LSU Medical and Health Physicist Named American Association of Physicists in Medicine Fellow

BATON ROUGE - LSU Department of Physics & Astronomy Professor and Director of LSU Medical and Health Physics Wayne Newhauser, has been named a Fellow of the American Association of Physicists in Medicine.

     A distinct honor among the medical physics profession, an AAPM Fellow honors members who have made significant contributions through service, the advancement of medical physics knowledge based upon independent original research or development, medical physics educational activities, especially in regard to the education and training of medical physicists, medical students, medical residents and allied health personnel, and leadership in the practice of medical physics.

          Newhauser, the Dr. Charles M. Smith Chair of LSU Medical Physics, was recognized by AAPM for his distinguished contributions to medical physics. He is a board certified and licensed medical physicist.

          After earning degrees in nuclear engineering and medical physics from the University of Wisconsin in 1995, he worked at the German National Standards Laboratory (PTB), Harvard Medical School and Massachusetts General Hospital and The University of Texas M. D. Anderson Cancer Center. Newhauser has published more than 110 peer-reviewed journal articles, leads federal research grants, and mentors students and post-doctoral fellows.

          Newhauser's research team focuses on cancer prevention and cancer survivorship through a collaboration with Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Center. Specifically working to better understand the risks of treatment-related health problems faced by cancer survivors. The long-term goal is to provide an enhanced basis of evidence for making clinical decisions and health care policy decisions. Their research examines advanced radiotherapies, such as intensity modulated proton and photon therapies, as well as conventional photon therapy.

          "Our research is by necessity trans-disciplinary, including medical physics, software and nuclear engineering, high performance computing, statistics, cancer prevention and epidemiology, and oncology," said Newhauser.

          The mission of the American Association of Physicists in Medicine is to advance the science, education and professional practice of Medical Physics; a broad-based scientific and professional discipline which encompasses physical principles with applications in biology and medicine. With 8259 members, AAPM supports the Medical Physics community with a focus on advancing patient care through education, improving safety and efficacy of radiation oncology and medical imaging procedures through research, and the maintenance of professional standards.



Mimi LaValle
LSU Department of Physics & Astronomy

More news and information can be found on LSU's Department of Physics & Astronomy home page at