Institutional Effectiveness Council

The Institutional Effectiveness Council (IEC), under the direction of the Office of Academic Affairs (OAA), serves as a steering committee to provide oversight for institutional effectiveness functions across academic, support, and administrative units. The IEC replaces the University Review and Assessment Council (URAC).


The IEC provides recommendations for guiding institutional effectiveness policies and procedures by promoting a continuous improvement framework to achieve expected outcomes and to meet related SACSCOC expectations, including:

  • 1.2.a. Student Learning Outcomes

The IEC provides guidance in developing and implementing appropriate policies and procedures to enhance the assessment of student learning outcomes for all degree programs, stand-alone academic certificates, and units defined as academic support and student services. [Note: Oversight for general education program assessment is provided by the Faculty Senate Integrated Learning Core Committee with support from the Office of Institutional Effectiveness.]

  • 1.2.b. Administrative/Operational Outcomes

The IEC provides guidance in developing and implementing appropriate policies and procedures to enhance the assessment of administrative/operational outcomes in conjunction with the university’s strategic planning annual reporting requirements.

  • 1.2.c. Program Review

The IEC provides oversight for the academic program review process, which is required for all degree programs and stand-alone academic certificates. The IEC recognizes those degree programs with specialized accreditation may be eligible for a modified program review. In addition, administrative program review is handled on an ad hoc basis as requested by the administration or the unit.


To accomplish the purpose, the IEC is charged with the following:

  • Advising the Office of Institutional Effectiveness (OIE) for opportunities to strengthen the institution’s continuous improvement activities.
  • Assisting in reviews of annual outcomes activities (i.e., plans, reports, etc.) to provide a comprehensive feedback loop.
  • Communicating with associated groups across campus to promote assessment efforts and to help inform of processes, timelines, etc.
  • Leading the internal review process for academic and administrative program reviews, including approving external reviewers, serving as chair for an internal committee, and developing recommendations based on the internal review.
  • Recommending considerations for professional development opportunities related to institutional effectiveness (e.g., workshops, speakers, topical resources).
  • Reviewing policies, procedures, structures, and systems periodically to seek opportunities for improvements across all facets of institutional effectiveness.
  • Serving on functional IEC work groups to accomplish the charge.


The IEC membership is representative of the academic, support, and administrative units so as to promote collaboration, enhance communication, and facilitate institutional effectiveness activities. IEC members serve a three-year term that may be renewed; appointments begin with the fall semester.


Unit Represented Member Title Term
Institutional Effectiveness Sandi Gillilan Associate Vice Provost  
Associate Dean Academic Council Craig Harvey Associate Dean, Engineering 2024

Faculty Representatives (appointed by college)

Unit Represented Member Title Term
College of Agriculture Richard Cooper Professor, Animal Science 2024 
College of Art & Design Rod Parker Professor, Art 2024
College of Business Daniel Whitman Associate Professor, Management 2024
College of Coast & Environment John White Professor, Oceanography & Coastal Sciences 2023
College of Engineering Jin-Woo Choi Professor, Electrical & Computer Engineering 2022
College of Human Sciences & Education Tao JIn Associate Professor, Library & Information Science 2022
College of Humanities & Social Sciences Heather Rankin Associate Professor, Sociology 2024
Law Center TBD   2024
School of Mass Communication Jenee Slocum  Professor,  Mass Communication 2023 
College of Music & Dramatic Arts Jim Murphy Professor, Theatre 2023
College of Science Scott Baldridge Professor, Mathematics 2022
School of Veterinary Medicine Masami Yoshimura Associate Professor, Comparative Biomedical Sciences 2024

Faculty Senate Integrative Learning Core Committee Representative

Unit Represented Member Title Term
College of Humanities & Social Sciences TBD   2024

 Support/Administrative Unit Representatives

Unit Represented Member Title Term
Academic Programs & Support Services Clay Benton  University Registrar 2023
LSU Libraries Sigrid Kelsey Director 2024
Diversity TBD   2022
Enrollment Management Becca Hubbard  Director of Retention & Student Success 2022
Digital & Continuing Education Radhika Krishnadas Director, Instructional Design & Development 2022
Finance & Administration Bernie Braun Director, Institutional Research 2023
Research & Economic Development TBD    2024
Strategic Communications TBD    2024
Student Affairs Emily Hester Assistant to the Vice President 2022

 Ex officio Members (non-voting)

Unit Represented Member Title
Past IEC Co-Chair Elsie Michie Associate Dean, Humanites & Social Sciences
Institutional Effectiveness Tara Rose Director of Assessment                            


Related Documents

IEC Bylaws



Dr. Sandi Gillilan
Associate Vice Provost for Institutional Effectiveness
  email sandi