American Ornithological Society Awards LSU Professor for Service to the Field

BATON ROUGE – Phil Stouffer, the LSU School of Renewable and Natural Resources Lee F. Mason Professor of Conservation Biology, will receive the 2019 Peter R. Stettenheim Service Award from the American Ornithological Society, or AOS. This award is given to a senior ornithologist, who has provided extraordinary service to AOS. Stouffer will receive this award at the annual AOS meeting in Anchorage, Alaska, in June along with Mark Hauber, the Harley Jones Van Cleave Professor of Host-Parasite Interactions at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign. They are the second recipients of the Peter R. Stettenheim Service Award.

“I’m honored to be recognized by my colleagues in ornithology. Sharing this award with my good friend Mark Hauber reflects not just the work we did together, but also the contributions of everyone involved in our publications,” Stouffer said.

In addition to being a full-time LSU professor and researcher, Stouffer served as the editor-in-chief of the scientific journal, The Condor: Ornithological Applications, from 2013 to 2019. During the journal’s transition from general ornithology to applied ornithology, Stouffer helped guide the transition, raising the impact factor to first place among ornithology journals worldwide in the process. He also served as associate editor of the scientific journal, The Auk, from 2002 to 2013. In addition to serving as an editor for AOS journals over the past decade, he also served as the Scientific Program Chair for the North American Ornithological Congress in New Orleans in 2002 and has been a judge for the Cooper Ornithological Society Student Presentation Awards and AOS Student Presentation Awards.

Every year, AOS presents a range of awards honoring members for stellar contributions to science and impactful service to the organization. The award recipients’ work spans the full breadth of avian science, including contributions to evolution, conservation, systematics and genetics as well as to the profession of ornithology. Awardees represent the broad diversity of AOS members, who are making major contributions to ornithology and to the society.

“Honoring the achievements of our colleagues is an annual highlight for AOS leadership,” said AOS President Kathy Martin. “Under the northern lights of Anchorage, AOS will recognize a stellar array of ornithologists who will receive these prestigious awards for 2019.”


Additional Link:

2019 AOS Award Winners Announced:


Contact Alison Satake
LSU Media Relations