LSU 2019 Hall of Distinction: Alumnus of the Year, Young Alumnus of the Year Named

H. Dale Hall

H. Dale HallPhoto: LSU Alumni Association

BATON ROUGE – H. Dale Hall, chief executive officer of Ducks Unlimited Inc., was named the 2019 LSU Alumnus of the Year, and Wendy McMahon, president of ABC Owned Television Stations Group, is LSU Young Alumna of the Year.

They will be inducted into the LSU Alumni Association Hall of Distinction on Friday, April 5, 2019, along with Gregory M. Bowser, president of the Louisiana Chemical Association and the Louisiana Chemical Industry Alliance, Baton Rouge; retired U.S. Air Force Lt. Gen. Lee K. Levy, former commander of the Air Force Sustainment Center, Air Force Materiel Command and a member of the NASA Advisory Council, of Oklahoma City, Okla.; and engineer A. Hays Town, founding owner of Town Construction, Baton Rouge.

“The LSU Alumni Association annually recognizes alumni who have distinguished themselves and the university through their careers, their personal and civic accomplishments, their volunteer activities and their loyalty to their alma mater,” said Cliff Vannoy, association president and CEO. “These individuals have excelled in all of these areas and exemplify the essence of a true Tiger.”

Hall, of Collierville, Tenn., joined Ducks Unlimited in 2010 after 31 years with the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service, which he served as director from 2005-09. He serves on the boards of numerous conservation organizations and has received many honors recognizing his achievements, the most recent being his induction into the LSU School of Renewable Resources Hall of Fame as Alumnus of the Year in Spring 2018. Hall earned a master’s degree in fisheries management from LSU in 1979. He earned his bachelor’s degree in biology/chemistry from Cumberland College in Kentucky.

McMahon, of Los Angeles, has responsibility for eight local TV stations and their digital assets across the country. Previously, she served as senior vice president of the digital component of the company. Before joining ABC Owned Television Stations, McMahon was vice president for programming and creative services at KABC-TV, the ABC-owned television station in Los Angeles. McMahon graduated from LSU in 1996 with a bachelor’s degree in mass communication.

Wendy McMahon

Wendy McMahonPhoto: LSU Alumni Association

The first LSU Alumnus of the Year award was conferred in 1966; the Young Alumnus of the Year Award was established in 1999 to recognize alumni who have attained professional prominence early in their careers. Including the 2019 inductees, the LSU Alumni Association has recognized 307 individuals representing a cross-section of LSU graduates.

For more information on the LSU Alumni Association, visit




Contact Sally Stiel
Senior Director of Alumni Engagement & Marketing
LSU Alumni Association

Brandli Roberts
Director of On-Campus Events
LSU Alumni Association

Ernie Ballard
LSU Media Relations