Ten Graduates Earn LSU’s Distinguished Communicator Award

Distinguished Communicators12/15/2017
BATON ROUGE – Ten graduates were awarded the Distinguished Communicator Award during LSU’s 294th commencement exercises.

These students earned this honor by meeting high standards set by faculty in various colleges and by the LSU Communication across the Curriculum program. The students earned high grade-point averages in communication-intensive courses – based on written, spoken, visual and technological communication – and built digital portfolios, displayed as public websites, which included their communication projects from courses, internships, leadership roles and public service.

This semester’s Distinguished Communicators are as follows, listed by hometown:

Alexandria, La. – Stephanie Lutfallah, industrial engineering

Baton Rouge, La. – Katie Palmer, biological engineering; Katie Smith, digital advertising; and Tommy Nguyen, biological engineering

Gonzales, La. – Jennifer Tran, mass communication

Gretna, La. – Calli Farrell, finance

Metairie, La. – Emily Hartdegen, natural resource ecology management, and Katherine Gerosa, chemistry

New Orleans, La. – Emily Adoue, biological engineering

Dallas, Texas – Savanah Dickinson, mass communication

The LSU Distinguished Communicator program was created in 2006 to enhance learning experiences for LSU students and support the improvement of students’ communication skills.

For more information on Communication across the Curriculum, call 225-578-7795 or visit www.cxc.lsu.edu.




Contact Ernie Ballard
LSU Media Relations