LSU’s Manship School to Induct Three Alumni into Hall of Fame on Sept. 14

BATON ROUGE – The Manship School of Mass Communication at LSU will honor alumni Lou Gehrig Burnett, veteran Capitol Hill communications chief, political pundit and independent publisher; Marie Bissell Constantin, internationally known still photographer and author; and Alex Martin, Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist and editor at the Wall Street Journal, at its 43rd annual Hall of Fame gala on Thursday, Sept. 14.

The ceremony will begin at 7 p.m. at Juban’s restaurant, located at 3739 Perkins Road in Baton Rouge.

The Manship School thanks all of the event’s sponsors that make the Hall of Fame Gala possible, including the family of Mike Dunne, Louisiana Farm Bureau Federation, Franklin, Press Club of Baton Rouge, Creative Communications Inc., deGavelles & Associates, Lambert Media, Louisiana Radio Network and Tiger Rag Magazine, LSU Alumni Association, Peter Kovacs, Public Relations Society of America – Baton Rouge Chapter and Public Relations Association of Louisiana.

The 2017 Hall of Fame Committee was chaired by Randy Hayden and Marica Vlahos and other members include Ernie Ballard, Chris Ballay, Tristi Charpentier, Chelsea Costanza, Emily Davenport, Bob Johannessen, Venessa Lewis, Nancy Malone, Darin Mann and Bill Sherman.

For more information on the Manship School of Mass Communication, visit For more information on this year’s inductees, visit




Contact Ernie Ballard
LSU Media Relations