LSU Joins University Energy Research Coalition

BATON ROUGE – LSU is one of seven universities to join the University Coalition for Basic Applied Fossil Energy Research and Development, or UCFER, in 2017. UCFER is a university-led program started in 2016 by Pennsylvania State University focused on coordinating research on current and future energy sources and sharing that research with other universities.

UCFER’s research focuses on traditional energy sources like coal, natural gas and oil, as well as research on geological and environmental systems, materials engineering and energy conversion engineering.

The coalition is currently made up of 16 universities: nine founding members and the seven new members for 2017.

James Spivey, the James McLaurin Shivers and Clarence M. Eidt Jr. Professor in the Cain Department of Chemical Engineering, helped coordinate LSU’s membership into UCFER LSU is an important addition to the coalition because of its energy research.

“LSU’s long-standing expertise in energy research and development as well as its proximity within the nation’s energy corridor makes it a valuable new member to this coalition,” Spivey said. “By joining UCFER, we also tap into a network of universities with complementary research strengths to address today’s energy challenges.”

Other new coalition members for 2017 include Carnegie Mellon University, The Ohio State University, University of North Dakota, University of Pittsburgh, University of Utah and West Virginia University. A full list of UCFER members can be found here.



LSU has a video uplink studio with live broadcast capabilities. Contact us to set up an interview.






Contact Alison Satake
LSU Media Relations


Beth Carter
LSU Media Relations