Six Alumni Named to LSU Hall of Distinction; Glenn Curtis, Brandon Landry Highlight Inductions

Alumni Hall of Distinction

The 2017 LSU Hall of Distinction Class: William Shelby McKenzie, Mary Landrieu, Brandon P. Landry, Maj. Gen. Glenn H. Curtis and Jake L. Netterville. (Not pictured Dr. Charles M. Smith)Photo: Eddy Perez/LSU

BATON ROUGE – Maj. Gen. Glenn H. Curtis, Louisiana adjutant general, and Brandon P. Landry, founder, co-owner and CEO of Walk-On’s Bistreaux & Bar, highlighted the roster of notable alumni inducted into the LSU Alumni Association Hall of Distinction. Curtis, Alumnus of the Year, and Landry, Young Alumnus of the Year, along with four other LSU graduates, were inducted at the Lod Cook Alumni Center on Friday, April 7.

Also inducted were former U.S. Senator Mary Landrieu, policy adviser with Van Ness Feldman, Washington, D.C.; William Shelby McKenzie, of counsel with Taylor, Porter, Brooks & Phillips, Baton Rouge; Jake L. Netterville, chairman of the board emeritus of Postlethwaite & Netterville, Baton Rouge; and Dr. Charles M. Smith, retired family medicine practitioner, Sulphur, La.

“The LSU Alumni Association annually recognizes alumni who have distinguished themselves and the university through their careers, their personal and civic accomplishments, their volunteer activities and their loyalty to their alma mater,” LSU Alumni Association President/CEO Cliff Vannoy said. “These individuals have excelled in all of these areas and exemplify the essence of a true Tiger.”

The first LSU Alumnus of the Year award was conferred in 1966; the Young Alumnus of the Year Award was established in 1999 to recognize alumni under the age of 40 who have attained professional prominence early in their careers. Including the 2017 inductees, the LSU Alumni Association has recognized 291 individuals representing a cross-section of LSU graduates.

Curtis has commanded the 11,500-member Louisiana National Guard, or LNG, since 2011 through numerous natural disasters, most recently the 2016 floods. Curtis was commissioned in 1984 through the LNG Officer Candidate School after serving as an enlisted member of the guard since 1982. Recognized with numerous awards and decorations during his career, he was inducted into the LSU Military Hall of Honor in 2009, received the General Douglas MacArthur Award in 1989, was named Battalion Commander of the Year in 1999 and received a Business & Industry Top 40 Under Forty award in 2002. Curtis graduated from LSU in 1986 with a bachelor’s degree in agricultural business and holds a master’s degree in strategic studies from the U.S. Army War College.

Landry opened the first Walk-On’s Bistreaux & Bar in 2003. Today, the restaurant is one of the hottest casual dining concepts around, with 13 restaurants in Louisiana and Texas and 50 more locations across the south on the drawing board. In 2015, New Orleans Saints quarterback Drew Brees signed on as Landry’s partner, and annual revenues are estimated to exceed $70 million in 2017. Nations Restaurant News, Entrepreneur Magazine, Franchise Times and Headline News have recognized Landry’s entrepreneurial spirit. He was named LRA Restaurateur of the Year, Baton Rouge Young Businessperson of the Year and Louisiana Marketer of the Year and received a Baton Rouge Business Report 40 Under 40 award. Walk-On’s was named ESPN’s Best Sports Bar in America. Landry serves on various nonprofit boards, and he gives generously to local communities. He graduated from LSU in 2001 with a bachelor’s degree in management.

Landrieu began her public service career in 1979, when she was elected to the Louisiana State Legislature, the youngest woman ever elected. In 1987, she was elected state treasurer and served for two terms. She was elected to the U.S. Senate in 1996 – the first woman from Louisiana to be elected to a full term – and served for 18 years. Landrieu secured billions of dollars for Louisiana in the wake of Hurricanes Katrina and Rita, led the successful effort to designate Barksdale Air Force Base as the nuclear strike command center for America; was lead sponsor on the RESTORE Act, which directed more than $18 billion to Louisiana and Gulf Coast States; and the Gulf of Mexico Energy Security Act, the first mandatory coastal revenue sharing law in the nation. She graduated from LSU in 1977 with a bachelor’s degree in sociology.

McKenzie worked at Taylor Porter law firm for more than 50 years, for many years as managing partner. He was an adjunct professor of law for more than 30 years and through Taylor Porter served as unofficial general counsel to LSU. After retiring from active practice, he served as interim general counsel to the LSU Board of Supervisors, President Emeritus William Jenkins and President F. King Alexander. For his leadership and numerous contributions to LSU and to his profession, he was named a Law School Distinguished Alumnus in 2005 and was recognized as the 2011 Distinguished Louisiana Attorney by the Louisiana Bar Foundation. A graduate of University High School, McKenzie earned an undergraduate degree from Princeton and received a juris doctor degree from LSU Law School in 1964.

Netterville was managing partner of Postlethwaite & Netterville for more than 20 years, during which time P&N became one of the top 100 leading accounting firms in the country. He holds leadership roles in professional organizations at state and national levels. He is a permanent member of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants Governing Council, on which he served as chairman of the board, the highest office that can be attained in the accounting profession. He is a member of the LSU Accounting Advisory Board, the E. J. Ourso College of Business Administration partnership for Excellence Board and the LSU Dean’s Advisory Council, and he is chair of the Tiger Athletic Foundation. He has held elected officer positions in numerous organizations and serves on the boards of Baton Rouge Water Company and Amedisys. Netterville earned a bachelor’s degree in accounting from LSU in 1960.

Smith practiced family medicine for 35 years and served as Calcasieu Parish coroner for more than 20 years. Inspired by his personal experiences as cancer survivor and his desire to improve patient care and cancer treatment in Louisiana, he established the Dr. Charles M. Smith Chair of Medical Physics in partnership with Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Center. The academic-clinical partnership, which serves the critical needs of Louisiana, is one of the strongest accredited medical physics programs in the country. Smith serves on the College of Science Development Council and Executive Committee, and he is a charter member of the Dean’s Circle. He is a member of the LSU Foundation Laureate Society and LSU 1860 Society and a benefactor of the Methodist Home for Children in Sulphur. He earned a bachelor’s degree in biological sciences from LSU in 1951 and a medical degree from LSU Medical School.

The Alumnus of the Year designation is the highest honor awarded to a distinguished graduate of LSU by the association. The first award was conferred in 1966; the Young Alumnus of the Year Award was established in 1999 to recognize alumni under the age of 40 who have attained professional prominence early in their careers. Including the 2017 inductees, the LSU Alumni Association has recognized 291 individuals representing a cross-section of LSU graduates.



Contact Brandli Roberts
LSU Alumni Association


Ernie Ballard
LSU Media Relations