SEC Faculty Achievement Award Recipients Announced, Susanne Brenner Selected from LSU

Susanne Brenner

Nicholson Professor of Mathematics Susanne BrennerPhoto: LSU

BATON ROUGE – Fourteen SEC faculty members have been named winners of the 2017 SEC Faculty Achievement Awards, SEC Commissioner Greg Sankey announced Wednesday.

Now in their sixth year, these awards honor one individual from each SEC university who has excelled in teaching, research and scholarship. Nicholson Professor of Mathematics Susanne Brenner has been selected from LSU.

“Through the SEC Faculty Achievement Awards we have a unique opportunity each year to recognize and encourage the work of outstanding faculty members on our campuses,” said Sankey. “These 14 highly accomplished scholars represent more than 14,000 full-time, tenured professors in our Conference, and we are delighted to honor them for decades of service to our students.”

Each SEC Faculty Achievement Award winner will receive a $5,000 honorarium from the SEC and will become his or her university’s nominee for the SEC Professor of the Year Award. The SEC Professor of the Year, to be named in April, receives an additional $15,000 honorarium. Last year, LSU’s Isiah Warner was selected as the 2016 SEC Professor of the Year.

Brenner, who received her Ph.D. in mathematics from the University of Michigan, holds a joint appointment with the Department of Mathematics and Center for Computation and Technology, or CCT. At CCT, she has served as the associate director for academic affairs since 2008. In 2005, she was awarded a Humboldt Research Award from the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation. In 2011, she was awarded the AWM-SIAM Sonia Kovalevsky Lecture. She is a SIAM Fellow (Class of 2010), AMS Fellow (Inaugural Class 2013) and AAAS Fellow (2012).

Brenner serves as managing editor of Mathematics of Computation. She also serves on the editorial boards of the SIAM Journal on Numerical Analysis, Numerische Mathematik, Numerical Algorithms, Electronic Transactions on Numerical Analysis and the Journal of Numerical Mathematics. She serves on the Scientific Council of the Center International de Mathematiques Pures et Appliquees and the AMS Council. In addition, she was a member of the Electorate Nominating Committee for the American Association for the Advancement of Science and the SIAM Fellows Selection Committee. She is a past SIAM vice president for publications and served on the SIAM Council.

To be eligible for the SEC Faculty Achievement Award, the professor must be a teacher or scholar at an SEC university; have achieved the rank of full professor; have a record of extraordinary teaching; and have a record of scholarship that is recognized nationally and/or internationally.

“The SEC is comprised of 14 of the finest universities in the country, and our faculty members are some of the most nationally and internationally decorated individuals in academia,” said Mark E. Keenum, president of Mississippi State University and president of the Southeastern Conference. “It is a privilege to be able to recognize their accomplishments, and I offer each of them my sincere congratulations.”

The SEC Faculty Achievement Awards and the SEC Professor of the Year Award are both selected by the SEC Provosts, and they are a part of the SECU academic initiative. SECU is the mechanism through which the SEC promotes the collaborative academic endeavors and achievements of its students, faculty and administrators.

Below is a list of the 2017 SEC Faculty Achievement Award recipients:

  • University of Alabama, Arunava Gupta, Distinguished University Research Professor of Chemistry
  • University of Arkansas, Brian Gallini, Professor of Law
  • Auburn University, James Barth, Lowder Eminent Scholar in Finance
  • University of Florida, George Christou, Distinguished Professor of Chemistry
  • University of Georgia, Roberto Docampo, Distinguished Research Professor of Cellular Biology
  • University of Kentucky, T. John Balk, William T. Bryan Professor of Materials Engineering
  • Louisiana State University, Susanne Brenner, Nicholson Professor of Mathematics
  • University of Mississippi, Dale Flesher, Professor of Accountancy
  • Mississippi State University, Janice Chambers, Giles Distinguished Professor of Veterinary Medicine
  • University of Missouri, James Birchler, Curators’ Distinguished Professor of Biological Sciences
  • University of South Carolina, David Shields, Carolina Distinguished Professor of English
  • University of Tennessee, Suzanne Lenhart, Chancellor’s Professor of Mathematics
  • Texas A&M University, David Bergbreiter, Regents Professor of Chemistry
  • Vanderbilt University, Suzanna Sherry, Herman O. Loewenstein Professor of Law

For more information, visit



Contact Bryant Welbourne


Ernie Ballard
LSU Media Relations