LSU Announces 2014 AAAS Fellows

11/24/2014 11:47 AM












BATON ROUGE – Three LSU faculty have been named Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, or AAAS, the world’s largest general scientific society. Each Fellow is elected by their peers for their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications.

“The distinguished faculty who have been elected as AAAS Fellows represent LSU’s high level of research expertise and impact as recognized by worldwide leaders in their respective fields,” said Kalliat T. Valsaraj, vice chancellor for research and economic development of the LSU Office of Research and Economic Development.


The newly elected 2014 AAAS Fellows include:


Harry H. Roberts, director of the Coastal Studies Institute and Boyd Professor in the Department of Oceanography and Coastal Sciences, School of the Coast and Environment has been elected for his distinguished contributions to the field of deltaic and marine geology, particularly for understanding the sedimentary history of the Mississippi Delta and other delta systems.


George G. Stanley, professor in the Department of Chemistry, College of Science has been elected for his distinguished contributions to homogeneous catalysis involving bimetallic cooperativity and for creating the LSU ChemDemo Program - the world's largest chemistry service-learning effort.


Carol M. Wicks, Frank W. and Patricia Harrison Family Professor in the Department of Geology and Geophysics, College of Science has been elected for her distinguished contributions to the field of environmental science, particularly studies of karst and coastal groundwater systems; and for leadership in national science organizations.


The LSU researchers are among 401 AAAS members, who have been awarded the honor this year. They will be formally announced in the AAAS News & Notes section of the journal Science on Nov. 28, 2014 as well as recognized at the AAAS Fellows Forum during the AAAS Annual Meeting on Feb. 14, 2015 in San Jose, Calif.

LSU currently has 35 AAAS Fellows. The tradition of AAAS Fellows began in 1874. Currently, member can be considered for the rank of Fellow if nominated by the steering groups of the association’s 24 sections, or by any three Fellows who are current AAAS members — so long as two of the three sponsors are not affiliated with the nominee’s institution, or by the AAAS chief executive officer. Fellows must have been continuous members of AAAS for four years by the end of the calendar year in which they are elected.


Each steering group reviews the nominations of individuals within its respective section and a final list is forwarded to the AAAS Council, which votes on the aggregate list.


The council is the policymaking body of the association, chaired by the AAAS president, and consisting of the members of the board of directors, the retiring section chairs, delegates from each electorate and each regional division and two delegates from the National Association of Academies of Science.


About AAAS
AAAS is the world’s largest general scientific society, and publisher of the journal, Science ( as well as Science Translational Medicine ( and Science Signaling ( AAAS was founded in 1848, and includes 254 affiliated societies and academies of science, serving 10 million individuals. Science has the largest paid circulation of any peer-reviewed general science journal in the world, with an estimated total readership of 1 million. The non-profit AAAS ( is open to all and fulfills its mission to “advance science and serve society” through initiatives in science policy, international programs, science education, and more. For the latest research news, log onto EurekAlert! (, the premier science-news Web site, a service of AAAS.



Alison  Satake 
LSU Media Relations

Posted on Monday, November 24, 2014