Five Named to LSU Alumni Association National Board

11/14/2014 11:54 AM

BATON ROUGE – Five LSU graduates were named to the LSU Alumni Association National Board of Directors at the organization’s annual meeting Friday, Nov. 7, in Baton Rouge.


Elected were Susan Whitelaw, of Shreveport, a partner in Whitelaw, Rice & Green CPAs; former state Sen. Randy Ewing, of Ruston, president of Ewing Timber; Karen Brack, of San Diego, an engineer at Boeing Commercial Airplanes; Steve Brown, of Los Angeles, Western U.S. sales manager for Sundyne LLC; and Leo Hamilton, a partner in the Baton Rouge law firm Breazeale, Sachse and Wilson.


All candidates were elected unanimously. They will serve three-year terms beginning Jan. 1, 2015.


“Leadership is critical to the success of any organization, and we are fortunate to welcome these outstanding, dedicated alumni to the board,” said Cliff Vannoy, association president and CEO. “The association and the university will benefit immensely from their expertise.”


Ending terms on the board were Mike Woods, of Shreveport, who served for 13 years; Hals Benhard, of Palmetto, 26 years; Guy Campbell, of Monroe, 13 years; and Scott Anderson, of Monroe, 21 years. Each served stints as board chair.


“These individuals were an integral part of the organization for many years, and they played major roles in our success,” said Vannoy. “Their willingness to share their time, talents and resources was invaluable.”  


Ex-officio officers elected to serve one-year terms are Vannoy, president; Mike Garner, treasurer; and Claire Drake, secretary.


For more information, contact Jackie Bartkiewicz, LSU Alumni Magazine editor, at 225-578-3370 or

Ernie  Ballard 
LSU Media Relations

Posted on Friday, November 14, 2014