LSU University College Hosted Phi Eta Sigma’s Annual Initiation Ceremony for 38 Freshmen Scholastic Achievers

11/19/2013 02:36 PM

BATON ROUGE – LSU University College hosted its annual Phi Eta Sigma Initiation Ceremony on Nov. 13 in the LSU Student Union Royal Cotillion Ballroom. University College’s Chapter of Phi Eta Sigma inducted 38 freshmen scholastic achievers.


“It is an honor and a privilege to serve as president of one of LSU’s oldest societies,” said Andrew Mahtook, 2013-2015 president of the LSU Chapter of Phi Eta Sigma. “For more than 85 years, Phi Eta Sigma has inducted some of the brightest minds to walk this historic campus. The tradition and excellence of LSU can be felt in each incoming freshmen class, and I take great pride in welcoming the best of those students into our respected chapter.”


Phi Eta Sigma is a national honor society rewarding first-collegiate-year scholarship. Since 1928, the LSU Chapter of Phi Eta Sigma has inducted more than 10,650 students. The goal of the society is to encourage and reward academic excellence among full-time, freshmen students in institutions of higher learning, who have a minimum 3.5 cumulative grade-point average. Inductees receive national recognition, membership and undergraduate and graduate scholarship opportunities of over $300,000.


“Phi Eta Sigma is a well-respected honor society of which I am pleased to be the advisor for the LSU Chapter,” said Paul Ivey, executive director of LSU University College. “This year’s induction is another means for University College to recognize the academic excellence of our freshmen.”


The oldest and largest first-year honor society, Phi Eta Sigma was founded at the University of Illinois on March 22, 1923. Since its founding, more than 1 million scholars have been inducted into Phi Eta Sigma, and more than 370 collegiate chapters have been established throughout the United States.


Fall 2013 inductees into the LSU Chapter of Phi Eta Sigma include:



Meagan H. Collman



Mandy N. Pennington



Christa L. Culpepper Alexandria, LA

Baton Rouge
Leanne Peyton Beach
Aaron Joseph Bennett
Mary E. Heintz
Ashleigh M. Jones
Ashley Pham
John Buckner Price

Sarah N. Bourgeois

Natalie L. Travis

Matthew C. Perque
Elizabeth Picciola
Emily Picciola
Catherine M. Serio
Erik Robert Wientjes

Caroline Elizabeth Rau

Laura Lee Sonnier

Rebecca E. Lambert

Cole C. Billeaud
Natalie Blair Choplin

Lake Charles
Juliann Marie Baggett

Taylor A. Amedee

Andrew T. Melcher
Wade A. Wyckoff

New Orleans
Caroline Jean Carson
Katherine M. Eagan
Anna Giurintano
Carly M. Maher
Charles M Ponder, IV

Port Allen
Landon D. Becnel

Grant Alexandra Blanchard

River Ridge
Robert T. Mueller



Landon J. Allemand

Blake M. Coleman

Olajumoke Hairat Dawodu

Missouri City
Haley Elise Heasley
Austen Vanek


Since 1933, LSU University College has served as the portal of entry for students enrolled at LSU. Academic and personal success is the hallmark of a well-rounded student, and University College provides a foundation of support services for students beginning their academic careers at LSU. University College has two enrollment divisions: The Center for Freshman Year and The Center for Advising and Counseling. Additionally, University College offers retention-specific programs: Student Support Services, Ronald E. McNair Research Scholars, and Summer Scholars. These academic support programs focus on particular student populations and are a significant part of the role and mission of University College. For more information on LSU University College, visit or follow the conversation at





Contact Jacquelyn Craddock
LSU University College


Contact Aaron Looney
LSU Media Relations

Posted on Tuesday, November 19, 2013