Baton Rouge Native Jesse T. Clifton Receives LSU University College’s Phi Eta Sigma L.B. Lucky Award

05/08/2013 10:40 AM

BATON ROUGE – Jesse T. Clifton of Baton Rouge was recently awarded the L.B. Lucky Award, presented through LSU University College’s Phi Eta Sigma chapter.


Clifton received the award during LSU University College’s annual Phi Eta Sigma Initiation Ceremony, held on April 18 in the LSU Student Union’s Royal Cotillion Ballroom, where the chapter inducted 255 freshmen scholastic achievers and presented the L. B. Lucky Award and Senior Award.


A sophomore majoring in political science with a 4.0 GPA, Clifton also serves as president of the International Relations Club.


Established in 1959, the L.B. Lucky Award recognizes a Phi Eta Sigma member who achieved the best overall academic performance during the first three semesters of work taken at LSU.


“Jesse is a remarkable young man who has demonstrated a superior level of academic achievement that warrants his recognition as the outstanding sophomore member of our LSU Chapter of Phi Eta Sigma,” said Paul Ivey, chapter advisor and executive director of LSU University College.


Phi Eta Sigma is a national honor society rewarding first-collegiate-year scholarship. Since 1928, the LSU Chapter of Phi Eta Sigma has inducted more than 10,400 students. The goal of the society is to encourage and reward academic excellence among full-time freshmen students in institutions of higher learning who have a minimum 3.5 cumulative grade point average. Inductees receive national recognition, membership and undergraduate and graduate scholarship opportunities of more than $300,000. The oldest and largest first-year honor society, Phi Eta Sigma was founded at the University of Illinois on March 22, 1923. Since its founding, more than 1 million scholars have been inducted into Phi Eta Sigma, and more than 370 collegiate chapters have been established throughout the United States.


Since 1933, LSU University College has served as the portal of entry for students enrolled at LSU. Academic and personal success is the hallmark of a well-rounded student, and University College provides a foundation of support services for students beginning their academic careers at LSU. University College has two enrollment divisions – the Center for Freshman Year and the Center for Advising and Counseling. Additionally, University College offers retention-specific programs such as Student Support Services, Ronald E. McNair Research Scholars and Summer Scholars. These academic support programs focus on particular student populations and are a significant part of the role and mission of University College.


For more information on LSU University College, visit or follow the conversation at

Jacquelyn  Craddock 
University College

Posted on Wednesday, May 8, 2013