LSU Board Approves Hospital Agreements; Honors Jenkins, Bertman

04/17/2013 07:17 PM

BATON ROUGE – April’s meeting of the LSU Board of Supervisors featured the approval of agreements for the management of LSU System hospitals in New Orleans and Lafayette, a new Boyd Professorship, honorary degrees and the naming of the baseball field at Alex Box Stadium for legendary Tiger baseball coach Skip Bertman. 

The board approved cooperative endeavor agreements for the management of Charity Hospital and Medical Center of Louisiana at New Orleans and University Medical Center at Lafayette. The former will be managed by Louisiana Children’s Medical Center, and the latter by Lafayette General Health System Inc.

Professor R. Eugene Turner was named LSU’s 71st Boyd Professor and the 46th for the main campus. The Boyd Professorship is the university’s highest faculty honor. Turner is the LSU Distinguished Research Master and Shell Endowed Chair in Oceanography/Wetlands Studies and is an internationally renowned coastal expert and leader in the field of hypoxia, or dead zone, research.

Additionally, the board approved three honorary degrees, including one for Interim President and Interim Chancellor William L. Jenkins.

“The entire state of Louisiana, in my opinion, owes Dr. Jenkins a tremendous debt of gratitude,” said Board Member James W. Moore.

“This is an overwhelming moment,” said Jenkins, who has served the LSU System in several capacities over the previous 25 years, including as dean of the LSU School of Veterinary Medicine, chancellor and president. “This has been a labor of love for me. It has been a real privilege to serve you.”

Honorary degrees were also awarded to American blues legend George “Buddy” Guy and U.S. Air Force Major Gen. Jasper Welch. Guy, a native of Lettsworth, La., who worked in the LSU Office of Facility Services from 1955-57, is known as one of the most influential guitarists in American music history, and is a six-time Grammy Award winner. Gen. Welch graduated from LSU in 1952 and went on to a distinguished career in the Air Force, serving as chief of theoretical physics at the Air Force Special Weapons Center, as well as the National Security Council.

These doctorates of humane letters will be awarded at LSU’s commencement exercises on May 16.

The board honored another LSU legend by approving a resolution to name the baseball field at Alex Box Stadium for former Tiger baseball coach and LSU Athletic Director Stanley “Skip” Bertman. Bertman coached the Tigers from 1984-2001 and established LSU as one of the elite programs within college baseball, winning more than 800 games, appearing in the College World Series 11 times and winning five national championships. More information on Bertman’s honor can be found at

In other athletics news, LSU-Alexandria was approved to introduce five new sports programs for the 2014-15 academic year, funded by an additional student athletic fee, along with booster support and other donations. More information is available at

Among university personnel actions approved by the board was the contract for F. King Alexander as the next president and chancellor of LSU. Alexander, the current president of California State University at Long Beach, will make approximately $600,000 per year.

The board also received an update on the activities of the LSU2015 Transition Advisory Team from Christel Slaughter of SSA Consulting.

“We’ve gotten the niceties out of the way and we’re into a lot of the hard work of looking at this process,” said Slaughter, highlighting some of the various experts that have spoken at meetings for the team, its sub-committees and task forces, as well as recapping the topics that have been explored.

Board of Supervisors Chair Hank Danos urged Slaughter and Transition Team members in attendance to make sure to capture as many ideas as possible, and be ready to look into their implementation.

“It’s obvious that there’s a lot of energy being put forth here,” he said. “And there’s a lot of ideas coming forward.”

More information on LSU2015 is available at

During the President’s Report portion of the board meeting, Jenkins introduced Miss LSU USA Hillary Tuttle, as well as new LSU Student Government President John Woodard and students Catherine Fontenot and Matthew Landrieu, who recently received the prestigious Harry S. Truman Scholarship. The board also approved a resolution honoring its student representative, Justin T. Mannino, whose term will end this summer.

Other actions taken by the board include:

  • approval of the contract of Malcolm “Cam” Cameron as offensive coordinator of the Tiger football team;
  • approval of the board’s meeting schedule for the 2013-14 academic year;
  • approval of an exclusive license between the LSU AgCenter and ProGene Plant Research LLC;
  • approval of an exclusive license between the LSU AgCenter and Terral Seed Inc.;
  • approval of a recommendation for a determination of acceptable university purpose for the construction of trees and trail restrooms at the Burden Center;
  • approval of a tuition and fee framework for the Dual Enrollment Program at LSU System Institutions;
  • approval of LSU-Alexandria’s mission statement;
  • approval of the graduate certificate in materials sciences and engineering at LSU; and
  • approval of a recommendation to enter into a right-of-way agreement with Entergy Gulf States Inc. (Louisiana).

Billy  Gomila 
LSU Media Relations

Posted on Wednesday, April 17, 2013