LSU Student Media Takes Home 22 Awards from Society of Professional Journalists

04/12/2013 02:07 PM

BATON ROUGE – LSU’s student media organizations won a total of 22 journalism awards over the weekend from the Society of Professional Journalists during its annual regional meeting in Oxford, Miss.

The Daily Reveille student newspaper was named the best all-around daily student newspaper, and the newspaper’s website,, was awarded best affiliated website among the large schools competing. The Daily Reveille editorial staff also won first place in editorial writing.

Three reporters and editors on the staff of The Daily Reveille won first place in the breaking news category – Brian Sibille, Kevin Thibodeaux and Josh Bergeron – for their stories on the man arrested for calling in a bomb scare that caused the campus to be evacuated.

Luke Johnson, former sports editor of The Daily Reveille won two firsts, for sports writing and for sports column writing at large schools.

Gordon Brillon won first place in the column-writing category for his op-ed page columns. In sports column writing, Micah Bedard was awarded second place.

In the television category, Tiger TV’s Seth Lewis won first place in two categories, television sports photography for his feature on the LSU football team being like a family and television news photography for his story on a community garden. Lewis also won third place in television sports reporting.

First place in television sports reporting was awarded to Daniel Brown for the LSU football team’s senior day. Taylor Frey won second place in the television breaking news reporting category. Jacob Krasnow won second place in television sports photography.

In the radio feature category, the judges awarded first place to KLSU’s Marylee Williams for her Halloween story on a haunted house.

In the online sports-writing category, Johnson and Bryan Stewart, managing editor for external media, were awarded second place for online sports reporting.

Brianna Paciorka won second place for her news photography.

The Legacy student magazine was awarded third place in the best overall student magazine category.

Hannah Martin won third place in television feature reporting, and Haley Kropog won third place in television general news reporting. In general news reporting, Lea Ciskowski won third place for one of her stories. Chandler Rome won a third place award for breaking news reporting.

A total of 19 students received awards at the ceremony, held at the University of Mississippi’s Overy Center for Southern Journalism and Politics.

Billy  Gomila 
LSU Media Relations

Posted on Friday, April 12, 2013