Southeastern Conference Announces 2013 SEC Faculty Achievement Award Recipients, Katherine Kemler Recognized from LSU

04/10/2013 02:54 PM

BATON ROUGE – On Wednesday, April 10, the Southeastern Conference announced winners of the 2013 SEC Faculty Achievement Awards, and Katherine P. Kemler, the Charles and Mary Barré Alumni Professor of Flute, was selected from LSU. These annual awards recognize professors from the 14 SEC member universities who have meritorious records in teaching and scholarship and who serve as role models for other faculty and students.

To be eligible to receive the SEC Faculty Achievement Award, a professor must be a teacher or scholar at an SEC university; have achieved the rank of full professor at an SEC university; have a record of extraordinary teaching; and a record of scholarship that is recognized nationally and/or internationally.

“The SEC Faculty Achievement Awards provide an opportunity for each SEC university to showcase the strengths of its faculty, who excel in many disciplines with varying areas of expertise,” said Jay Gogue, president of Auburn University and president of the Southeastern Conference. “In the SEC, we are fortunate to have professors who understand the value of classroom instruction, research guidance and scholarly contributions to the overall success of student education.”

Kemler is a flutist with the Timm Wind Quintet. She is a regular visiting teacher at the Oxford Flute Summer School in England and the Académie Musicale Internationale de Colombes in France. A graduate of Oberlin, she received her degrees from SUNY at Stony Brook. Kemler has appeared as a soloist with the British Chamber Orchestra in London’s Queen Elizabeth Hall and with the Orchestra Medicea Laurenziana throughout Italy, including Florence, Naples and Salerno. She has recorded four CDs with Centaur Records Inc., “Virtuoso American Flute Works”; “Sky Loom,” for flute and harp; “Sonatina” with LSU pianist Michael Gurt; and “Lipstick,” a CD of contemporary works.

SEC Faculty Achievement Award winners, one from each university, will receive a $5,000 honorarium from the Southeastern Conference and become his or her university’s nominee for the SEC Professor of the Year Award. The SEC Professor of the Year receives an additional $15,000 honorarium and will be presented at the annual SEC Awards Dinner in Destin, Fla.

SEC Commissioner Mike Slive said, “I want to congratulate the 14 professors who have been selected to receive this honor. They have transformed their classrooms and enriched the learning experience for SEC students. We are truly proud of their accomplishments.”

Chosen by a selection committee of SEC Provosts, the SEC Faculty Achievement Awards and the SEC Professor of the Year Award are part of a set of non-athletically related activities the Southeastern Conference has undertaken through its SECU academic initiative to encourage academic leadership and collaboration within the SEC membership.

The 2013 SEC Faculty Achievement Award Winners are:

  • University of Alabama: John Lochman, professor and Doddridge Saxon Chairholder in Clinical Psychology
  • University of Arkansas: Gregory Salamo, Joe N. Basore Professor in Nanotechnology and Innovation
  • Auburn University: Pradeep Lall, Thomas Walter Professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering
  • University of Florida: Larry DiMatteo, Huber Hurst Professor of Contract Law and Legal Studies
  • University of Georgia: Judith Ortiz Cofer, Regents and Franklin Professor of English and Creative Writing
  • University of Kentucky: Kimberly Ward Anderson, Gill Eminent Professor of Chemical Engineering
  • LSU: Katherine Kemler, Charles and Mary Barré Alumni Professor of Flute
  • University of Mississippi: Judson Watson, III, Howry Professor of Faulkner Studies
  • Mississippi State University: James C. Newman Jr., Giles Distinguished Professor
  • University of Missouri: Joshua Millspaugh, O’Connor Distinguished Professor of Wildlife Management
  • University of South Carolina: Susan Cutter, Carolina Distinguished Professor of Geography
  • University of Tennessee: Harry McSween, Jr., Chancellor’s Professor
  • Texas A&M University: John Nielsen-Gammon, Regents Professor and Texas State Climatologist
  • Vanderbilt University: Donna Ford, professor of Education and Human Development


About SECU

Using its SECU academic initiative, the Southeastern Conference sponsors, supports and promotes collaborative higher education programs and activities involving administrators, faculty and students at its fourteen member universities. The goals of the SECU initiative include highlighting the endeavors and achievements of SEC faculty and universities; advancing the merit and reputation of SEC universities outside of the traditional SEC region; identifying and preparing future leaders for high-level service in academia; increasing the amount and type of education abroad opportunities available to SEC students; and providing opportunities for collaboration among SEC university personnel.

For more information, contact Sean Cartell at or 205-458-3000.

Ernie  Ballard 
LSU Media Relations

Posted on Wednesday, April 10, 2013