LSU E. J. Ourso College Announces 2013 Hall of Distinction Inductees

02/18/2013 03:54 PM

BATON ROUGE – The LSU E. J. Ourso College of Business has announced that the members of its 2013 Hall of Distinction class are William Balhoff, Toni Stephenson and Robert Stuart. This year’s class will be inducted at the Hall of Distinction Banquet, which the college will host at the Business Education Complex on Friday, March 22.

“We are honored to induct Bill, Toni and Rob,” said E. J. Ourso College Dean Richard D. White, Jr. “Each of them has more than fulfilled the criteria we use to determine our Hall of Distinction members. We are also looking forward very much to hosting this year’s banquet on campus at the Business Education Complex.”

Balhoff, managing director and chief executive officer of Postlethwaite & Netterville, is a 1976 accounting graduate of LSU. P&N is one of the largest independent accounting and business advisory firms in the nation and the only Top 100 firm based in Louisiana.

A member of the E. J. Ourso College Dean’s Advisory Council, Balhoff is a Certified Public Accountant, a Chartered Global Management Accountant, a Certified Fraud Examiner and is certified in Financial Forensics. He has spent the majority of his career providing audit, accounting and consulting services for clients in a variety of industries. Balhoff serves on the LSU Department of Accounting’s Advisory Board and the Our Lady of the Lake College Board of Trustees. Additionally, he is a member of the Vision 21 Foundation Board and serves as the Finance Committee chair for the Baton Rouge Area Foundation Board of Directors.

Stephenson, president of Inc., earned her bachelor’s from the LSU College of Arts & Sciences – now the College of Humanities & Social Sciences – in 1967, and is an alumna of the Harvard Business School. Inc. is an Internet publishing company that owns almost 10,000 websites. Stephenson is also the co-founder and a partner of Stephenson Ventures, an investment management and private equity firm, and a founder, former director and former president of Charter Bank and Trust.

In 2007, Toni and her husband Emmet, a 1998 inductee of the Hall of Distinction, founded the Stephenson Disaster Management Institute in recognition of LSU’s outstanding service to the state of Louisiana in response to Hurricane Katrina. The Institute is now a part of LSU’s Stephenson National Center for Security Research and Training, a center for research and training for safety and security. Additionally in 2007, LSU’s Entrepreneurship Institute was renamed in the Stephenson’s honor following their gracious support of it and the LSU School of Veterinary Medicine. The couple is also providing funds for the construction of a new pet hospital on the LSU campus.

Stuart, head of Middle Market Commercial Banking for Capital One Bank and the Louisiana State President for Capital One Bank, earned his bachelor’s degree in finance in 1978, and his master’s degree in finance in 1979, both from LSU. He is also an alumnus of the Harvard Business School. Capital One Financial Corporation is a Fortune 500 financial holding company whose subsidiaries offer a broad spectrum of financial products and services to consumers, small businesses and commercial clients through a variety of channels.


A member of the E. J. Ourso College Dean’s Advisory Council, Stuart began his banking career at Fidelity National Bank. He witnessed Fidelity’s acquisition by Hibernia Corporation, where he served in several management positions for the latter, and aided in Capital One’s acquisition of Hibernia in 2005. Stuart serves as the chair of the Southeast Super Regional Committee and on the executive committees and boards of the LSU Foundation, the Tiger Athletic Foundation and the Louisiana Flagship Coalition. In addition to several other civic commitments, he is also a past chair of the Baton Rouge Area Chamber and of Women’s Hospital.

Established in 1996, the E. J. Ourso College of Business Hall of Distinction recognizes individuals who make significant contributions in the areas of business, academia, government or the community. The Hall of Distinction is not strictly limited to LSU alumni, but nominees should have some connection with the college.

For more information about the Hall of Distinction, visit For information about the E. J. Ourso College, visit

Wendy  Marx 
E. J. Ourso College of Business

Posted on Monday, February 18, 2013