LSU’s CCELL Honors Faculty, Students & Community Partners for Excellence in Service-Learning

11/19/2012 03:37 PM

BATON ROUGE – LSU’s Center for Community Engagement, Learning, and Leadership, or CCELL, has awarded 10 LSU faculty, students and community partners with the second-annual set of CCELL “Happy” Awards for excellence in service-learning.

The “Happy” was initiated to commemorate former CCELL director Jan Shoemaker’s 10 years of distinguished service, commitment to education and service for the common good.

The 2012 Happy Award recipients are: Connections for Life, community partner;  Alma Dawson,  Russell B. Long professor, library & information sciences; Highland Elementary School, community partner;  Betsy Irvine, executive director, Louisiana Delta Service Corps; Lisa Johnson, assistant professor, kinesiology; Sandy Joslyn,  graduate student, public administration and American Red Cross volunteer; Younghee Lim, associate professor, social work;  Mary Hannah Prevot, senior in art; John Scalzo, instructor, electrical engineering and computer science; and Yejun Wu, assistant professor, library & information sciences. Award citations for each winner can be found at

Recipients of the award were honored at the Happy Award and Partnership Celebration on Thursday, Nov. 8, in the Fellowship Hall of University Presbyterian Church on Dalrymple Drive. The celebration served as an opportunity to recognize Happy Award winners and honor the work of all members of the service-learning community.

CCELL promotes community engagement by serving as a clearinghouse for service-learning pedagogy and community partnerships; promotes learning by informing and helping to coordinate planning, research, pedagogy and assessment associated with service-learning and other innovative student learning initiatives; and develops student leadership skills by facilitating service-learning and related student initiatives. For more information on CCELL, visit

Billy  Gomila 
LSU Media Relations

Posted on Monday, November 19, 2012