Google’s Gingras Honored with 2012 Manship Prize

10/23/2012 10:02 AM

BATON ROUGE – Richard Gingras, head of news and social products at Google, has been named the 2012 recipient of the Manship Prize, presented by the LSU Manship School of Mass Communication. He received the award at the school’s annual 1913 Society Dinner on Oct. 13.


The Manship Prize is the only national award given by the Manship School, and recognizes an individual or organization based in the United States for exemplary use of digital media and technology in the service of public affairs.


Gingras has also been named to the Manship School’s Board of Visitors.


“His presence reinforces the rich diversity of talent already on our board,” said Bob Mong, chairman of the board and editor of the Dallas Morning News. “What’s more, it’s a working board, and we take pride in that fact.”


Gingras has been instrumental in the development of online services and new media for nearly 30 years, acting at the intersection of news and technology and helping to develop new products, concepts and companies.


In 1979, during the pioneering era of digital media, he created the first interactive online news magazine in partnership with CBS, NBC and PBS. Gingras served as interim president of “MyPublisher,” the digital book producer, then explored the intersection of public policy, online commerce and parody with the creation of the Total Information Awareness Gift Shop, a satirical project that spotlighted secret data mining by government entities from corporate and governmental databases, with all proceeds going to the American Civil Liberties Union. Before going to Google News, he was CEO of Salon Media Group, which operates the news site, the first Web-only publication; the blogging community; and the pioneering virtual community The Well.    


The Manship Prize was first presented in 1998 and is underwritten by an endowment from the Douglas L. Manship family in support of the school’s commitment and leadership in the area of media and public affairs.      


Previous Winners:


• Michael Bloomberg, founder of Bloomberg News
• P. Anthony Ridder, chair and CEO of Knight-Ridder
• Charles Benton, chair and CEO of Benton Foundation
• Berry Cooper, founder of
• Reid Ashe, COO of Media General
• Brian Lamb, founder of C-SPAN
• The Times-Picayune and WWL-TV for respective coverage of Hurricane Katrina
• Joe Trippi, political strategist
• Bill Adair, editor, PolitiFact
• Jan Shaffer, J-Lab
• Investigative News Network


For more information about the Manship Prize, contact Mary Ann Sternberg at

Billy  Gomila 
LSU Media Relations

Posted on Tuesday, October 23, 2012