Eric Voegelin Society to Hold International Meeting at LSU Oct. 20

10/19/2012 09:07 AM

BATON ROUGE – On Saturday, Oct. 20, the Eric Voegelin Society will hold their 28th annual international meeting at LSU. The meeting, “Crisis and Hope in Politics – A Philosophical Conversation,” will have morning sessions in the Lod Cook Conference Center Abell Room and afternoon sessions in the Hill Memorial Library Lecture Hall.


The meeting will begin with a welcome by LSU College of Humanities & Social Sciences Dean Gaines Foster at 8:20 a.m. at Lod Cook. The first roundtable discussion, “Mysticism and Politics,” will be held from 8:40-10:10 a.m. Panelists include Ellis Sandoz, LSU; Steve Ealy, Liberty Fund Inc.; Jerry Martin, American Council of Trustees and Alumni; Macon Boczek, Kent State University; David Walsh, Catholic University of America; David Whitney, Nicholls State University; and Henrik Syse, Peace Research Institute of Oslo.


The second discussion, “Literature and Politics: Literary Masters & the Search for Truth of Existence,” will take place from 10:10-11:30 a.m. and will include Glenn Hughes, Saint Mary’s University of San Antonio; Alan Baily, Stephen F. Austin University; Manfred Henningsen, University of Hawaii; Tim Hoye, Texas Woman’s University; Steven McGuire, Eastern University; and Paulette Kidder, Seattle University.


During lunch, there will be informal visits to the Eric Voegelin Institute in Stubbs Hall 214-216 from 11:30 a.m. to 1:20 p.m.


Afternoon sessions in Hill Memorial Library will begin at 1:20 p.m. with “A Republic if You Can Keep It: Constitutionalism, Exceptionalism, and Still a City on a Hill?” This roundtable discussion includes David C. Brown, Loyola University of New Orleans; Judge Darrell White, American Judicial Alliance; Sarah Beth Vosburg, LSU; Elizabeth Corey, Baylor University; David Corey, Baylor University; and Paul R. Baier, LSU Law Center.


From 2:50 to 4:20 p.m., the roundtable discussion “Equivalences of Experience and Common Sense Philosophy,” including Wolfgang Leidhold, University of Cologne; Thomas J. McPartland, Kentucky State University; Thomas Heilke, University of Kansas; Scott Segrest, University of Alaska; Tim Fuller, Colorado College; and Glenn Hughes, Saint Mary’s University of San Antonio, will be held.


Following a report from Eric Voegelin Society directors and a brief business meeting, the 28th annual international meeting will adjourn.


For more information on the Eric Voegelin Institute, visit or call 225-578-7888.  

Ernie  Ballard 
LSU Media Relations

Posted on Friday, October 19, 2012