Eight Named to LSU Alumni Association Hall of Distinction

02/27/2012 03:06 PM

BATON ROUGE – Distinguished scholar, author and international business consultant John S. Butler and Dallas Cowboys linebacker Bradie James highlight the roster of LSU alumni named to the 2012 LSU Alumni Association Hall of Distinction.


Butler, the Alumnus of the Year, and James, the Young Alumnus of the Year, will be inducted on Friday, March 30, during ceremonies held at Lod Cook Alumni Center.


Butler, a professor of management and sociology at the University of Texas at Austin, holds the Herb Kelleher Chair in Entrepreneurship and the J. Marion West Chair for Constructive Capitalism. He is also director of the Institute for Creativity Capital, or IC2, which has produced more than 250 companies and generated more than a quarter of a billion dollars for start-ups.


Butler earned a bachelor’s degree from the LSU College of Arts & Sciences, now College of Humanities & Social Sciences, in 1969 and a Ph.D. in sociology from Northwestern University in Evanston, Ill., in 1974.


A longtime former member of the LSU Alumni Association National Board of Directors, Butler was instrumental in the development and continued success of the Austin Alumni Chapter.


James, a 2003 criminology graduate, has been an influential game changer for most of his life – academically, in sports and in business. A high-achieving student-athlete, he was a two-time All-SEC selection, was named an All-American his senior season, was chosen as a National Scholar Athlete and was on the All-SEC Academic Honor Roll.


A fourth-round draft pick for the Cowboys, he excelled on special teams in his rookie season and by 2005 was the team’s starting middle linebacker. In 2007, he was named defensive captain.


James launched his Foundation 56 in 2007 to honor his mother’s memory by helping others overcome breast cancer. He has teamed up with his alma mater to create the Etta James Memorial meet, a gymnastics event for breast cancer awareness that attracts thousands of fans and donors to the Pete Maravich Assembly Center annually.


He is also a major supporter of the Academic Center for Athletes and the Tiger Athletic Foundation scholarship program.


Also to be inducted into the 2012 Hall of Distinction are the following:


Kurt Culbertson, chairman of the board and CEO of DesignWorkshop, a landscape architecture, urban design and strategic services firm based in Aspen, Colo. He earned a bachelor’s degree in landscape architecture in 1976.


Joseph D. Fail, of Bay Springs, Miss., president and majority stockholder of the family-owned Telephone Electronics Corporation, or TEC, a holding company for numerous telecommunications subsidiaries in the southeastern United States. He graduated in 1961 with a bachelor’s degree in electrical engineering.


David B. Means III, of Gloster, La., a 1972 agriculture graduate, is active in DeSoto Parish business and civic endeavors. He was named DeSoto Parish Alumnus of the Year in 2004 and the College of Agriculture Outstanding Alumnus in 2007.


James P. Richards Jr., co-founder and principal of TOWNSCAPE Inc., a Fort Worth-based landscape architecture firm. He received a bachelor’s degree in landscape architecture in 1978.


Donald Welge, of Chester, Ill., is perhaps most recognized for his chain of donut shops, Mary Lee Donuts. He graduated in 1957 with a bachelor’s degree in agricultural economics and is a major benefactor of the Department of Agricultural Economics & Agribusiness.


Claude O. West, president of Westco Land LLC, and West Foundation Inc., is a charter member of the Tiger Athletic Foundation and an active member of the Webster Parish Alumni Chapter. He earned a bachelor’s degree in business in 1949.

Ernie  Ballard 
LSU Media Relations

Posted on Monday, February 27, 2012