LSU E. J. Ourso College Announces 2012 Hall of Distinction Inductees

02/07/2012 10:07 AM

BATON ROUGE – The LSU E. J. Ourso College of Business has announced that the members of its 2012 Hall of Distinction class are Rolfe McCollister, Anthony Ravani, Sue Turner and Joseph Winkler. This year’s class will be inducted at the Hall of Distinction Banquet, which will be held Friday, March 2. Steve Forbes, president and chief executive officer of Forbes Inc., will serve as the evening’s keynote speaker.


McCollister, publisher and chief executive officer of the Greater Baton Rouge Business Report, is a graduate of LSU. His company has grown from two full-time employees and sales of $350,000 to 65 full-time employees and total revenue of $9 million dollars.


Additionally, McCollister is president and founder of Louisiana Business Inc., which publishes the Greater Baton Rouge Business Report, 225 magazine, inRegister magazine, Daily Report online news, Louisiana NEXT, Welcome magazine, Baton Rouge Region Guide and other specialty publications. Louisiana Business Inc. also produces the BizTech Expo – the state’s largest business trade show, the Baton Rouge Business Awards and Hall of Fame and several other annual events.


Ravani is the principal attorney with Lotus Law Group, which he founded in 2007. Lotus Law Group is focused on Business and Family Immigration, including EB-5, H-1B, PERM, L Visa, I-9 Compliance and Investment Green Card.  He earned his bachelor’s and master’s degrees in accounting from the University of New Orleans and master’s degree in information systems & decision sciences from LSU in 1980. Ravani earned a J.D. from Seattle University School of Law and was admitted into the Washington Bar. He teaches a venture capital backed entrepreneurial start-ups course at Seattle University School of Law.


In his professional career, Ravani has built and profitably transitioned three successful start-up companies, all of which were in software as a service type business. Prior to the start-ups, Ravani worked directly with Bill Gates at Microsoft in the early 1990s and built a world-wide licensing/operation organization with more than 200 software engineers working in Europe, Japan and the U.S. In the 1980s, Ravani worked for ExxonMobil, building various information systems & decision sciences models. He became the chief information officer for Exxon Offshore Division while he was there.


Turner has an extensive record of memberships and activities associated with historical preservation and the arts. She is an alumna of LSU, where she earned a bachelor’s degree in 1947. Turner is a member of the Louisiana Museum Foundation, has served on the board of directors for the Louisiana State Museum, and is a board of trustees member and adviser on the National Trust, a member of the board of directors for the BREC Foundation, and a founding member of Louisiana Association of Museums. Turner has also received national recognition for her preservation and advisory work with the National Trust for Historic Preservation.


Turner has garnered numerous awards in return for her generous sharing of time and philanthropy. In addition to the LSU Foundation Board of Directors, she serves on the Boards of the Louisiana State Museum and the Louisiana Museum Foundation, is a trustee for the National Trust for Historic Preservation, and is a trustee emeritus for the LSU Museum of Art.


Winkler is the chairman and chief executive officer of Complete Production Services. He joined Complete in June 2005, as president and chief executive officer and was named chairman in 2007. He earned a bachelor’s degree in accounting in 1973 from LSU’s E. J. Ourso College of Business.


Prior to the start of his tenure with Complete, Winkler served as the executive vice president and chief operating officer of National Oilwell Varco Inc. He was Varco International Inc.’s president and chief operating officer before that and held a variety of management positions with Varco and its predecessors, including the position of chief financial officer of D.O.S. Ltd., a privately held provider of solids control equipment and services and coil tubing equipment to the oil and gas industry.


Established in 1996, the E. J. Ourso College of Business Hall of Distinction recognizes individuals who make significant contributions in the areas of business, academia, government or the community. The Hall of Distinction is not strictly limited to LSU alumni, but nominees should have some connection with the college.


For more information about the Hall of Distinction, visit For information about the E. J. Ourso College, visit

Wendy  Marx 
E. J. Ourso College of Business

Posted on Tuesday, February 7, 2012