LSU Personnel started receiving phishing e-mails on May 13th, 2017 related to account validation.

Subjects of the Phishing e-mail - ACCOUNT TERMINATION

Sender Name - base@micro.soft.office.com

Sender e-mail address - External to LSU (@micro.soft.office.com)

Screenshot of phishing e-mail

 screenshot of Phish Mail

Content of phishing e-mail

The content of the message states the following (Links and other descriptors have been removed for security purposes):

Microsoft Office365

Dear Cozdemir

We receive a request to terminate your Microsoft Office365 Account and your account will be block from sending and receiving messages if not re-validated within 48hours.

Why are we sending this? We take our security very serious and we need to keep you updated.
We recommend you to click on re-validate now on your email below for quick re-validation
Your Microsoft Office365 Account will be re-validated automatically after clicking re-validate now



All information associated with your suspended account will eventually get deleted,
unless successfully appealed.

This message was sent from the email address is not monitored. Do not reply to this message.
Privacy | legal notices

Microsoft Office
One Microsoft Way
Redmond, WA
98052-6399 USA

Screenshot of phishing site

The URL provided in the e-mail does not belong to LSU and directs the user to a third-party site. The third party site appears as below:

screenshot of Phish Site

NOTE: The website appears to be similar to Microsoft Office site, but it is not. Additionally, PLEASE always verify the URL of any site prior to providing your credentials.