2020 Longwell Award Winners Announced

May 28, 2020

BATON ROUGE, LA – The College of Engineering recently presented its Award for Instructor Excellence to four faculty members in recognition of those who make significant contributions to the early years of a student’s journey through quality instruction in entry-level engineering courses.

The Award for Instructor Excellence includes a $4,500 one-time cash award and is open to all full-time LSU Engineering instructors or faculty at the rank of assistant professor or higher. This year’s recipients are:

  • Stephanie Heumann – Instructor, Bert S. Turner Department of Construction Management
  • Seung Kam – Professor, Craft & Hawkins Department of Petroleum Engineering
  • Amin Kargarian – Assistant Professor, Division of Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Marybeth Lima – Professor, Department of Biological and Agricultural Engineering

Petroleum engineering alumnus Harry Longwell established the Dean’s Fund for Instructor Excellence to enhance the quality of instruction in entry-level courses in engineering disciplines.

The appointed selection committee used student success rates, departmental support and teaching philosophy as some of the metrics to evaluate this year’s recipients. The winner for students’ choice was selected through an online voting process.

Like us on Facebook (@lsuengineering) or follow us on Twitter and Instagram (@lsuengineering).​


Contact: Joshua Duplechain

Director of Communications