Student Awards


Brandon Oubre received the 2013 Donald W. Clayton Engineering Excellence Award for Outstanding Undergraduate Students. Honorees are selected who have demonstrated exemplary character, scholarly accomplishment, leadership and have served as a good role model and ambassador for the College of Engineering. Mr. Oubre is pursuing a dual major in Computer Science (Software Engineering Concentration) and Mathematics. He did summer internship at NASA.

Bruno Beltran is a dual major in both Mathematics and Computer Science, and also an Honors student. In April 2013 he was awarded the prestigious, nationally competitive Goldwater scholarship by the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Program. He is a participant in the LA-STEM research scholars program.

Brian Poulin received the Honors College Outstanding Thesis Award for his work entitled “Semantic Analysis in the Tensor Contraction Engine.” His research was under the mentorship of Dr. Gerald Baumgartner. Mr. Poulin received his B.S. in Computer Science Spring 2013 with a concentration in Software Engineering and a minor in Mathematics.

Andre Oliver Wiggins was selected to present the student invited speech at the Spring 2013 Commencement for the College of Engineering. Mr. Wiggins completed the Software Engineering concentration with a minor in Information Technology Management. He is a past president of the student chapter of the Association for Computing Machinery. Mr. Wiggins is currently employed by Microsoft.