Six Receive Teaching Award from College

Dean Wornat posing with Longwell award winners.

The College of Engineering recently presented its Award for Instructor Excellence to six faculty members in recognition of those who make significant contributions to the early years of a student’s journey through quality instruction in entry-level engineering courses.

The Award for Instructor Excellence also includes a $4,500 one-time cash award and is open to all full-time LSU Engineering instructors or faculty at the rank of assistant professor or higher. This year’s recipients are:

  • Jin-Woo Choi – Associate Professor, Division of Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Ram Devireddy – Professor, Department of Mechanical & Industrial Engineering
  • Karim El Kholy – Professional in Residence, Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering (Students’ Choice)
  • Adam Melvin – Assistant Professor, Cain Department of Chemical Engineering
  • Frank Tsai – Professor, Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering
  • Mehdi Zeidouni – Assistant Professor, Craft & Hawkins Department of Petroleum Engineering

Petroleum engineering alumnus Harry Longwell established the Dean’s Fund for Instructor Excellence to enhance the quality of instruction in entry-level courses in engineering disciplines.

The appointed selection committee used student success rates, departmental support and teaching philosophy as some of the metrics to evaluate this year’s recipients. The winner for students’ choice was selected through an online voting process.


By Joshua Duplechain

Director of Communications