Login to myLSU Baton Rouge, Louisiana |
 Food Science

Other Scholarships

Association of Food & Drug Officials of the
Southern States Scholarship (AFDOSS)

The Association of Food & Drug Officials (AFDOSS) is a Regional Affiliate of the Association of Food & Drug Officials (AFDO). AFDO is an international, nonprofit organization of individuals concerned with the development and enforcement of uniform food, drug, and other consumer protection laws. Through resolutions, AFDOSS submits recommendations to the international association for suggested actions needed in the aforementioned areas. The end result is the development of “model bills”, the encouragement of training, and the overall implementation of sound and effective consumer protection regulation.

In 1999, AFDOSS established the Mary Logan Scholarship in honor of one of our great members who has served as secretary-treasurer for our regional affiliate for 27 years. Mrs. Logan, who is now retired, worked for 39 years with the Tennessee Department of Agriculture. The two $1000 scholarships are available for students entering their junior or senior year with moneys being allocated to such by the AFDOSS Executive Board, contributions of companies and individuals, and grants obtained primarily from AFDO. The scholarship is designed to be awarded to top students having demonstrated a desire to serve in a career of research, regulatory work, quality control, or teaching in an area related to some aspect of foods or drugs. The recipient should have obvious leadership capabilities and must have at least a 2.5 grade average during the first two years of undergraduate study. The scholarship will be awarded to the selected person to attend a college or university that has curricula in the area of food and/or drugs.

To apply, please complete the provided application (doc, pdf) and submit such along with two letters of recommendation from two faculty members and a copy of your most recent college transcript. The application may be obtained through your state’s food and drug regulator or by requesting such from the Scholarship Committee Chair, Dr. Anna Hood at 662-325-8056 or email annah@ext.msstate.edu . This year applications must be received on or before April 30, 2010 and scholarships will be awarded for the 2010 fall semester. Please send your completed application packet to Dr. Anna Hood, AFDOSS Scholarship Committee Chair, Department of Food Science, Nutrition, & Health Promotion, Box 9805, Mississippi State, MS 39762.

revised: 24-Feb-2022 10:43