Welcome New Peabody Society Board Members!


The Peabody Society Alumni & Friends board, established in 1999, is a distinguished group of alumni and friends who are dedicated to assisting the College of Human Sciences & Education. Members serve the college through fundraising, voluntarism, relationship building and advocacy.

Dinah Bradford received her BS in Health Physical & Safety Education, 1971, and her MS in Health Physical & Safety Education, 1973. She is a retired principal.

Warren Drake, Lab School graduate of 1969, received his master’s in Education Administration from LSU in 1976. He is currently the superintendent of the East Baton Rouge Parish School Board.

Gerald Drefahl received his BS in Kinesiology, 1995 and MS, Kinesiology, 1999. He is the president and CEO of FITT.

Joan Landry received her PhD in Kinesiology from LSU in 2003.

Shirley Porter, MSW, 1997, is a retired clinical social worker. She is the founder of the Sunshine Foundation, Inc. and author of You Are Sunshine.

Bradford, Drake, Drefahl, Landry, and Porter join: Annette Ballard, Sister Judith Brun, Edward Cancienne, Carolyn Collins, Bridger Eglin, James Gilmore, John Gum, Art Halbrook, Rebecca Hamilton, Nancy Hammatt, Kathy Hill, Amelia Lee, Wally McMakin, Buck Moyse, John Painter, Brett Richard, Dot Rumfellow, Melanie Sims and Cheryl Singer.

Twenty-four members total, the board is comprised of diverse and exceptional members that facilitate growth and support of the college by their engagement of alumni, donors, and community partners.

New officers

Carolyn Collins, Chair

Kathy Hill, Vice-chair

Rebecca Hamilton, Secretary-Treasurer

Nancy Hammatt, Past Chair