CHSE Faculty Receive 2020 University Distinguished Faculty Awards


May 13, 2020

2020 University Distinguished Faculty Awards

LSU is proud of its world-class faculty, and we are pleased to announce the College of Human Sciences & Education's faculty honored as this year’s recipients of university-wide distinguished faculty awards. Congratulations.

This year's honorees are:

  • Dr. Yu (April) Chen | LSU Alumni Association Rising Faculty Research Award, School of Education
  • Dr. Cyndi DiCarlo | Communication across the Curriculum Outstanding Faculty Award, School of Education
  • Dr. Sunyoung Park | LSU Distinguished Faculty Award, School of Leadership & Human Resource Development


Photo of Dr. Yu (April) ChenLSU Alumni Association Rising
Faculty Research Award

Dr. Yu (April) Chen is an Assistant Professor in the School of Education at Louisiana State University. She received her doctoral degree in Educational Leadership (Higher Education) with a minor in Statistics from Iowa State University in 2014. Prior to working at Louisiana State, she was a post-doctoral research fellow at Iowa State University.

Dr. Chen’s research expertise includes community college student success, international students, STEM education, and data driven decision-making. In 2017, she received a research grant awarded by Council for the Study of Community Colleges for studying factors influencing community college transfer students’ salary after they graduated with a bachelor degree. She also received a research grant from National Institute for the Study of Transfer Students for studying international students’ perceptions and experiences with community colleges.  She has published in Community College Review, Community College Journal of Research and Practice, New Directions of Community Colleges, and Journal of College Student Retention.

Photo of Dr. Cyndi DiCarloCommunication across the
Curriculum Outstanding Faculty
Dr. Cyndi DiCarlo, PhD, holds the W.H. “Bill” LeBlanc LSU Alumni Association Departmental Endowed Professorship of Early Childhood Education and is the Executive Director of the Early Childhood Education Laboratory Preschool at LSU. DiCarlo also serves as the Coordinator of the Early Childhood Education Teacher Education Program and her research focuses on interventions to improve outcomes for young children and clarification and innovations in recommended practices in early childhood. Prior to joining LSU in 2004, she was a Clinical Assistant Professor at LSU Health Sciences Center (New Orleans). Dr. DiCarlo has been recognized for her research, teaching and service; her research on children's attention during whole group instruction received the 2012 Research Paper of the Year from the Journal of Research in Childhood Education; she was recognized for excellence in teaching receiving the Tiger Athletic Foundation Teaching Award (2010). Additionally, she has received recognition for her service, receiving the College of Human Sciences and Education Faculty Service Award (2016) and the Louisiana Champions of Service Volunteer of the Year: Plantation Region (2013). Dr. DiCarlo has incorporated her passion for research into the courses she teaches and her work in mentoring undergraduate and graduate students. Since its inception in 2014, Dr. DiCarlo has mentored 67 undergraduate students who have subsequently presented at LSU Discover Day. She currently serves on the editorial boards for Infants & Young Children and for the Journal of Teacher Action Research.

Photo of Dr. Sunyoung ParkLSU Distinguished Faculty Award

Dr. Sunyoung Park received her PhD from the University of Minnesota in Human Resource Development (HRD). Her research interests concern organizational culture and behavior, learning and performance in the workplace, leadership, and research trends in HRD and related fields. Her teaching focuses on the fields of instructional design, performance analysis, training and development, and research methods.

Prior to her appointment at Louisiana State University, Dr. Park served as a post-doctoral research fellow at Indiana University, Bloomington. She has received several research awards including a 2016 Awards for Excellence: Highly Commended Paper Award from European Journal of Training and Development and Cutting Edge Awards at the 2011, 2014 and 2016 AHRD International Research Conference in the Americas. In 2017, she received the LSU Alumni Association Rising Faculty Research Award.