Faculty, Students & Staff Honored at Convocation

At the CC&E Spring Convocation, held May 5, we honored students, faculty and staff for their outstanding accomplishments throughout the year. In a college filled with overachievers, the selection of the honorees is difficult: The College’s rigorous undergraduate degree requirements, which include two years each of chemistry, mathematics, physics and biology, ensure that the college educates top students. Our faculty includes highly-awarded experts in their fields, including four Boyd professors—the highest ranking LSU gives to its faculty—a MacArthur “Genius” Award, Heinz Award, seven LSU Distinguished Faculty, six LSU Distinguished Research Masters, and more.

“I would like to thank the Awards Committee for selecting this year’s honorees.  They are outstanding representatives of the talent in our College,” said Chris D’Elia, dean.

Convocation would not have been possible without the generous support of its sponsors.  Special guests attending the event this year were Richard Lipsey, Laurie Aronson, and Mrs. Dee Dee Wilbert. 


This year’s recipients included:

Joseph Lipsey, Sr. Memorial Scholarship Award Katie Bowes
Joseph Lipsey, Jr. & Richard A. Lipsey Excellence in Teaching Award Kehui (Kevin) Xu
Richard A. Lipsey & Joseph Lipsey, Jr. Graduate Student Scholarship Incentive Awards Jessica Vaccare

Byron Ebner Bert Turner Memorial Scholarship

Leah Forsyth
Joseph Winston Ted Ford Memorial Scholarship David Reeves
Candace Chun Memorial Scholarship Award Alisse Guerra
Andrew L. “Drew” Wilbert Memorial Scholarship Amanda Fontenot
Tiger Athletic Foundation Student Scholarships Rachel Croy, Shannon Matzke, Abbey Hotard
CC&E Undergraduate Scholarship Award Lindsey Lamada, Madeline LeBlanc
Kuniko Fujisaki Honor Award Brittany Berthelot
Dr. Joseph Martinez Memorial Award Erin Saal
Sustainable Environment Award Joshua Latino
Tiger Athletic Foundation Undergraduate Teaching Award Tracy Quirk, Brian Snyder
CC&E Outstanding Faculty Award Chunyan Li
CC&E Outstanding Administrative Staff Award Lily Pham
CC&E Outstanding Student Dissertation Award  Jeff Obelcz
CC&E Outstanding Student Thesis Award  Brian Levine
CC&E Graduate Student Symposium Award   1st Place – Kate Abbott
         2nd Place – Jeffrey Rutherford
  3rd Place – Jessica Johnson
CC&E Undergraduate Research Poster Symposium Award 1st Place –  Amanda Fontenot
  2nd Place – Shannon Matzke
  3rd Place – Madeline LeBlanc
CC&E Capstone Poster Award 1st Place –  Abbey Hotard
   2nd Place – Cameron Cole
  3rd Place – Damen Pheiffer
LSU Discover Day 1st Place– STEM Poster – Amanda Fontenot
  1st Place–STEM Oral Presentation – Shannon Matzke
Tiger’s Choice Award  Amanda Fontenot, Lauren Nickles
Dean’s Outstanding Service Award Leah Courville
LSU Alumni Association Rising Faculty Kehui Xu
Coalition to Restore Coastal Louisiana 2017 Coastal Stewardship Award Ed Overton
LSU Service Awards 25 years – Nan Walker
  30 years – Charles Milan
  35 years – Julie Breaux, Richard Shaw, Alaric Haag