Assistantships & Awards 


The Department maintains a list of email announcements regarding funding and award opportunities for students.

Phd Research Assistantship Available closes Dec 12, 2018.
For details see PhD Research Assistantship in coastal wetland carbon cycle



In addition, three departmental awards were made annually to students, thanks to donations and endowments.

It is with pleasure that the faculty members of the Department of Environmental Sciences announce the recipients of the Department’s graduate student awards for outstanding thesis research for the 2007-2013 academic years:


  • The Fujisaki Award:  Laura Basirico
  • The Martinez Award: Lynn Maloney-Mujica
  • The Sustainable Environment Award:  Abbey Tyrna


  • The Fujisaki Award:  Chris Wooten
  • The Martinez Award:  Amy Oestringer
  • The Sustainable Environment Award:  Kim Geaghan


  • The Fujisaki Award – Brian Matherne
  • The Martinez Award – Lauren DeFrank
  • The Sustainable Environment Award – Ariele Baker; Trey McCowan


  • The Fujisaki Award – Gregory Olson
  • The Martinez Award – Nicholas Yuknis
  • The Sustainable Environment Award – Kenan Li


  • The Fujisaki Award – Nabanita Bhattacharyya
  • The Martinez Award – Lillian Mata
  • The Sustainable Environment Award – P. Camille Golden
  • Distinguished Professional Master’s Program Award – Kaci Fisher

They were recognized and received their awards during the College of the Coast and Environment’s Annual Awards Convocation.

The faculty and administration of the Department of Environmental Sciences offer our hearty congratulations to these outstanding individuals

LSU Graduate School

Funding options for graduate students at LSU include assistantships, fellowships, and travel awards.