LSU Department of Public Administration Names its 2021 Award Winners

June 3, 2021

Chris KeatonSarah Temple

Christopher Keaton Sarah Temple     

Jake PolanskyGlen Howie

    Jake Polansky                            Glen Howie       

BATON ROUGE- The LSU Public Administration Department recently announced its annual awards. Christopher A. Keaton was named the 2021 Master of Public Administration Alumnus of the Year for his distinctive service to Louisiana state government. Recent graduates Sarah Temple and Jake Polansky received the Astrid Merget Award for their contributions to public service and Glen Howie received the David B. Johnson Award for academic distinction.

Christopher A. Keaton has worked in state government for 29 years and currently serves as the legislative fiscal officer in the LA Legislative Fiscal Office. The Legislative Fiscal Office is an independent agency created by statute to provide factual and unbiased information to both the House of Representatives and the State Senate. The office provides assistance to individual legislators, committees of the Legislature and the entire Legislature. In addition to holding an MPA from LSU, Mr. Keaton also holds a bachelor’s degree in accounting.

Sarah Temple and Jake Polansky both graduated from the LSU MPA Program last month and are co-recipients of the 2021 Astrid Merget Award. This award honors commitment to public service and citizenship by students who are pursuing the MPA degree and display exceptional distinction in balancing this service commitment with academic success.

Glen Howie is this year’s recipient of the David B. Johnson Student Achievement Award. This award recognizes students who display outstanding academic success as well as community and professional service in the MPA program.

About the Department of Public Administration

The Department of Public Administration at LSU’s E. J. Ourso College of Business offers a 36-hour degree program that emphasizes management, public policy, and financial skills for those leading public agencies, nonprofit and health care organizations, and for-profit organizations that interact with governmental agencies. PA’s faculty members are student-oriented and nationally-recognized for their expertise in their fields. For more information, visit or call 225-578-6743.

“Like” us on Facebook (LSUMPA) or follow us on Twitter (lsu_pa) and LinkedIn (LSU Department of Public Administration).


Bridget Conrad
E. J. Ourso College of Business