Hall of Distinction 2020 Inductees Announced

February 17, 2019

BATON ROUGE - The LSU E. J. Ourso College of Business has announced the members of its 2020 Hall of Distinction Class – Dal Miller, Kathleen L. Quirk, Robert K. Reeves and M. Jack Sanders. This year’s class will be inducted at the Hall of Distinction Banquet, which the college will host at the Business Education Complex on Friday, April 3.

“We set a high bar when selecting inductees for the college’s Hall of Distinction,” said Richard D. White Jr., dean of the E. J. Ourso College of Business. “Dal, Kathleen, Bobby, and Jack certainly meet this standard. We are proud of their success and contributions to their professions and communities. Their outstanding achievements enhance the college’s reputation.”

Miller has made a name for himself as a leader in the energy industry. In January 2019, he joined Premium Inspection and Testing Group as the chairman of the board and chief executive officer. Additionally, he currently serves as a board member of Certus Energy, Southwest Elevator, Alliance Source Testing, Petrolog and chairman of Premium Inspection. Miller also serves as an advisor to Founders Investment Banking and previously served on the board of Tri-Parish Bank. He is a member of the E. J. Ourso College of Business Dean’s Advisory Council, Tiger Athletic Foundation and the LSU Foundation.

Miller holds a Bachelor of Science in finance (1989) and an MBA (1991) with an emphasis in economics from LSU. He is a licensed certified public accountant in the state of Texas. Miller resides in Lafayette, Louisiana.

Quirk is executive vice president and chief financial officer of Freeport-McMoRan Inc., a leading international mining company and one of the world’s largest publicly traded copper producers. A senior member of the company’s executive team, she has been with Freeport-McMoRan for more than 30 years. Quirk serves on the board of directors of Vulcan Materials Company and is a member of the board of directors of the Valley of the Sun United Way.

Quirk holds a Bachelor of Science in accounting (1985) from LSU and lives in Phoenix, Arizona.

Newly retired, Reeves built a successful career in the energy industry. Most recently, he served as executive vice president and chief administrative officer for Anadarko Petroleum Corporation in Houston. Reeves is a member of the LSU Foundation National Board and the board of Episcopal Health Foundation; he previously served on the board of Key Energy Services Inc., Western Gas Partners LP, Western Gas Equity Partners LP, St. Luke’s Episcopal Health System, Family Services of Greater Houston and United Way of Greater Houston.

Reeves received his Bachelor of Science in business administration (1978) from LSU and Doctor of Jurisprudence (1982) from the LSU Paul M. Hebert Law Center. He is a licensed attorney in Texas and Louisiana and resides in Houston.

Sanders is the retired president and chief executive officer of Sonoco Products Company. During his 30-year career with Sonoco, Sanders served on the board of directors, executive committee and led the company’s management committee. Sanders served on the boards of South Carolina Governor’s School for Science and Mathematics, Manufacturers Alliance for Productivity and Innovation, American Forest and Paper Association and The Charles W. Coker and Elizabeth H. Coker Foundation. He is the most recent chairman of the South Carolina Chamber of Commerce and served as its commerce chair. He was recently elected to the board of directors for McCall Farms, a regional canned goods producer based in the Southeast United States.

Sanders is engaged with the Boy Scouts of America Pee Dee Area Council and helped establish the Scout Reach program working with at-risk youth in Hartsville elementary schools. He received his Bachelor of Science in finance (1976) from LSU. He resides in Charlotte, North Carolina.


Dal Miller HeadshotDal Miller
Kathleen Quirk HeadshotKathleen L. Quirk 
Bobby Reeves HeadshotBobby K. Reeves
Jack Sanders HeadshotM. Jack Sanders


About the Hall of Distinction

Established in 1996, the E. J. Ourso College of Business Hall of Distinction recognizes individuals who make significant contributions in the areas of business, academia, or government as well as their community. The Hall of Distinction is not strictly limited to LSU alumni, but nominees should have some connection with the college.

For more information about the Hall of Distinction and a list of past inductees, visit our Hall of Distinction gallery.

“Like” us on Facebook (LSUOursoCollege) or follow us on Twitter and Instagram (@lsuoursocollege).​


Elizabeth Eaton
E. J. Ourso College of Business