LSU Accounting Honors Outstanding Students at Annual Banquet


2019 Accounting Awards Banquet 

April 25, 2019

BATON ROUGE – In recognition of their academic accomplishments, the Department of Accounting awarded scholarships to 45 students at their annual awards banquet April 23, 2019, in the Business Education Complex Rotunda.

Additionally, Assistant Professor Sanaz Aghazadeh was given the Vincent C. Brenner Award, presented annually to the untenured faculty member who has been most productive in academic research.

Senior Instructor Janice Holmes was named Outstanding Teacher, an award given to a faculty member dedicated to excellence in classroom instruction and who demonstrates a commitment to furthering the instruction mission of the Department of Accounting.

The department awarded scholarships to the following students:

Louisiana CPA Scholarships
($4,800) Christopher “Kit” Smith Memorial
Matthew Dupre – Kenner, LA
($1,200) Richard Roth Memorial
Daniel Ellender – Mer Rouge, LA

Louisiana CPA Education Foundation Scholarships
($2,700 Graduate) Mary Alice Booker – Baton Rouge, LA
($1,200 Undergraduate) Olivia Scarber – Metairie, LA
($1,200 Graduate) Laura Guichard – Lafayette, La

$2,275 Wiley CPAExcel Scholarship
Julia Pfeifer – Slidell, LA

$1,900 PricewaterhouseCoopers Scholarship
Habibah Ibrahim – Baker, LA
Tamra Manfredo – Baton Rouge, LA

$1,696 Becker Professional Education Half Scholarship
Claire Jolly – Baton Rouge, LA

$1,500 Grant Thornton Scholarship
Lauren Bordelon – Baton Rouge, LA

$1,000 Baton Rouge Society of Louisiana CPAs Scholarship
Helen Mason – Metairie, LA
Maria Rodriguez – Kenner, LA

$1,000 Corey Tackett Scholarship
Cameron Bernard – Marrero, LA

$1,000 Deloitte Scholarships
Kylie Cronin – Baton Rouge, LA
Catherine Dubuc – Gonzales, LA
Jordon Williams – Pearland, Texas

$1,000 Ernst & Young Scholarship
Samuel Wempe – Houston, Texas
Hannah Hernandez – Ponchatoula, LA
Victoria Mitchell – Monroe, LA

$1,000 Faulk & Winkler Scholarship
Jacob Kershaw – Port Allen, LA

$1,000 Hannis T. Bourgeois LLP (Audit) Scholarship
Isabella Rhodes – Baton Rouge, LA

$1,000 Hannis T. Bourgeois LLP (Tax) Scholarship
Ethan LeBleu – Baton Rouge, LA

$1,000 KPMG Scholarship
Anna Duplechin – Lake Charles, LA

$1,000 KPMG (Graduate Students) Scholarship
Morgan Thompson – Harrahan, LA
Anna Stevens – Shreveport, LA

$1,000 LaPorte Scholarship
Cole Retif – Harvey, LA

$1,000 LSU Accounting Faculty Outstanding Student
Summer West – Baton Rouge, LA

$1,000 Postlethwaite & Netterville (Auditing) Scholarship
Abigail Urbina – Alexandria, LA

$1,000 Postlethwaite & Netterville (Tax) Scholarship
Bridget Schnell – New Orleans, LA

$1,000 James M. Owen Memorial Scholarship
Andrew Chenevert – Baton Rouge, LA

$1,000 William “Bill” Clayton Potter Sr. Endowed Scholarship
Samuel Trosclair – Thibodaux, LA

$1,000 Wegmann Dazet & Company Scholarship
Jennifer Fiorella – Mandeville, LA
Minh Vu – Baton Rouge, LA

$1,000 ExxonMobil Scholarship
Nick Mueller – Prairieville, LA

$1,000 Lloyd Morrison Award Fund
Pradeep Sapkota – Baton Rouge, LA

$850 Texas Tiger Tourney Scholarship
Morgan Harris – Houston, TX

$800 Thomas Brian Phillips Endowed Scholarship
Dylan Chesterman – Marrero, LA

$750 Association of Government Accountants (AGA) – Baton Rouge Chapter Scholarship
Jon Ruello – Metairie, LA
Blake Gladfelter – Baton Rouge, LA

$750 George Jarvis Williams Scholarship
Alexandrea Legendre – Marrero, LA

$650 H. J. “Monday” Lowe Endowed Scholarship
Parker Vaughan – Hammond, LA

$500 H. Sami PhD Student Scholarship
Nusrat Jahan – Baton Rouge, LA
Wanying Jiang – Baton Rouge, LA

$400 Lonnie H. Bearry Scholarship
Jonathan Streva – Henderson, NV

$350 Clarence L. Dunn Endowed Scholarship
Amelie Zimmer – Metairie, LA

About the E. J. Ourso College of Business

Since its establishment in 1928, the E. J. Ourso College of Business has continuously improved and expanded its offerings for students and alumni. Additionally, the college has made it a priority to provide its faculty with the resources it needs to further research in every aspect of the business world and to produce industry leaders for a global work environment. For more news and information about the E. J. Ourso College, visit the home page. 

“Like” us on Facebook (LSUOursoCollege) or follow us on Twitter and Instagram (@lsuoursocollege).


Elizabeth Eaton
E. J. Ourso College of Business