LSU Marketing Students Receive Pi Sigma Epsilon Awards

Members of the Pi Sigma Epsilon Beta Xi Chapter hold their award and smile.

Pi Sigma Epsilon members (from left): Lucy Sedky, Rachel Joyce, Erica Borne, Eliana Wackerman, Melissa Morgan, Charlotte Mitts and Jake Ricca 

BATON ROUGE – Marketing students from the LSU E. J. Ourso College of Business left the 2018 Pi Sigma Epsilon National Convention with industry insights, professional contacts and several prestigious awards. Pi Sigma Epsilon is a professional fraternity for students and practitioners in marketing and sales management.

LSU’s Beta Xi Chapter of Pi Sigma Epsilon received the Lloyd L. Antle Amethyst Chapter Award in recognition of outstanding chapter operations including programming and membership development. During the evaluation period the chapter’s officers were President Eliana Wackerman of Colorado Springs, Colo.; Vice President of Professional Development Melissa Morgan of St. Petersburg, Fla.; Vice President of Finance Rachel Joyce of Aiken, S.C. and Vice President of Administration Jake Ricca of Baton Rouge.

“It was an honor to bring our chapter back to nationals for the first time since 2015,” said Wackerman. “Melissa Morgan and I are elated to graduate knowing that Beta Xi is back to being an award-winning chapter.”

“I am very proud,” said Monica Santaella, the group’s advisor and an instructor in the Department of Marketing. “The students did a great deal of work this year. They reestablished connections with industry and engaged alumni who are always happy to help.”

Two students received individual honors.

Lucy Sedky of New Orleans, La. received a Future Leaders Scholarship. The scholarship recognizes first-year and sophomore members of Pi Sigma Epsilon who demonstrate the capacity to become outstanding leaders of their chapters and Pi Sigma Epsilon. Sedky received complimentary convention registration, a travel stipend and exclusive networking opportunities throughout the convention.

Erica Borne of Thibodaux, La. received the Ferguson Scholarship in recognition of leadership and community involvement. Borne is the current chapter president.

“The Beta Xi Chapter is so excited to have brought home the top chapter award in our category, as well as individual honors for both Lucy Sedky and me,” said Borne. “After a very successful 2017, the current executive board looks forward to an even better 2018. We are planning for the fall, and we cannot wait to return to the convention and rebuild the legacy of Pi Sigma Epsilon - Beta Xi."

Business students Charlotte Mitts of New Orleans, La. and Rachel Joyce of Baton Rouge also traveled to San Diego for the convention, held April 9-13.

About the Department of Marketing
The Department of Marketing at LSU’s E. J. Ourso College of Business prepares its students for careers in management, advertising, buying, product development, retailing and sales. For more information, visit our homepage or call 225-578-8684.