E. J. Ourso College Alumni Earn Honors from LCPA

Head shots of Jerry Jolly, Peggy Scott, Jeffrey Koonce, and Layne McDaniel

Top row (left to right): Jerry Jolly, Peggy Scott
Bottom row (left to right): Jeffrey Koonce, Layne McDaniel

July 25, 2018

BATON ROUGE – The Society of Louisiana Certified Public Accountants (LCPA) recently honored Baton Rouge CPAs, J. Gerard “Jerry” Jolly, Peggy Scott, Jeffrey Koonce and Layne McDaniel for their remarkable contributions to the CPA profession and the community. All four honorees are graduates of the LSU E. J. Ourso College of Business.

Jolly ’73 and Scott ’73 each received LCPA's Lifetime Membership Award to recognize their extensive record of achievement to benefit the future of CPAs throughout Louisiana. A donation will be made in their names to LCPA’s Education Foundation which supports scholarships for accounting students.

Jolly was a long-time partner in the accounting firm of KPMG LLP until his retirement in 2012; he now serves on the board of PetroQuest Energy Inc. Jolly has served in leadership roles on many nonprofit boards including the E. J. Ourso College’s Dean’s Advisory Council. He has been inducted into the Catholic High School Hall of Fame, the E. J. Ourso College’s Hall of Distinction and was recognized as a 2017 Baton Rouge Area Volunteer Activist.

Scott is a pioneer for women, becoming the first female office managing partner with the accounting firm of Deloitte. She also held executive roles in health care, including COO and CFO at Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Louisiana. Scott now is board chair for Cleco and is on the Blue Cross Foundation board where she previously served as chair/CEO. Having served as president, she is on the E. J. Ourso College’s Dean’s Advisory Council. She is in the LSU Alumni Hall of Distinction, LSU’s highest honor, and the E. J. Ourso College’s Hall of Distinction.

Koonce ’90, ’94 is general counsel for Bernhard Capital Partners. He received LCPA's Outstanding CPA in Business and Industry Award to recognize his contributions as a CPA to enhance the overall performance of his employer. Koonce is involved in his community as a board member of the Baton Rouge Area Chamber, chair-elect and board member of the Louisiana Association of Nonprofit Organizations, chairman of the Baton Rouge Chapter of Legatus and board member of the Baton Rouge City Club.

McDaniel ’83 received LCPA's Distinguished Public Service Award, the highest honor for public service leadership, impact, involvement and innovation of a Louisiana CPA. McDaniel is president of both Noesis Data LLC and the Credit Bureau of Baton Rouge Foundation. He currently serves as chair of the Manship Theatre at the Shaw Center for the Arts, chair of the Fund Development Committee for The Arc of East Ascension, chair of the Dream Teachers’ Selection Committee, and chair of the Fund Development Committee for the 2018 Annual Cecil J. Picard Educator Excellence Awards Gala.

About LCPA
LCPA is a nonprofit professional association serving more than 7,000 current and future CPAs statewide. It is the premier organization for accountants in the state. For more visit lcpa.org.

About the E. J. Ourso College of Business
Since its establishment in 1928, the E. J. Ourso College of Business has continuously improved and expanded its offerings for students and alumni. Additionally, the college has made it a priority to provide its faculty with the resources it needs to further research in every aspect of the business world and to produce industry leaders for a global work environment. For more news and information about the E. J. Ourso College, visit lsu.edu/business.

“Like” us on Facebook (LSUOursoCollege) or follow us on Twitter and Instagram (@lsuoursocollege).

Contact: Angela McBride
(225) 578-7833