Petit Awarded LSU Distinguished Communicator Award

Jacques Petit stands for recognition at his diploma ceremony.

Jacques Petit

May 23, 2017

BATON ROUGE – Jacques Petit of Luling, La., represented the E. J. Ourso College of Business among the 50 graduates who were awarded the LSU Distinguished Communicator Award during LSU’s 292nd commencement exercises.

These students earned this honor by meeting high standards set by faculty in various colleges and by the LSU Communication across the Curriculum program. The students earned high grade-point averages in communication-intensive courses – based on written, spoken, visual and technological communication – and built digital portfolios, displayed as public websites, which included their communication projects from courses, internships, leadership roles and public service.

This semester’s Distinguished Communicators are as follows, listed by college with the student’s hometown included:

College of Art & Design
Kayla Calongne, Kenner, La.
Benjamin Champagne, Lafayette, La.
Ry’yan Clark, New Orleans, La.
Haley Geier, Metairie, La.
Isabelle Gizinski, Acworth, Ga.
Gabrielle Pearce, New Orleans, La.
Renzi Terrebonne, Cut Off, La.

E. J. Ourso College of Business
Jacques Petit, Luling, La.

College of Engineering
Charles Byrne, Walker, La.
Rebecca Collins, Annapolis, Md.
Marlou Ibay de Guzman, Baton Rouge, La.
Kristin Ellis, Plaquemine, La.
Giuseppe Feo, Gulf Shores, Ala.
Grant Gonzalez, Gretna, La.
Aleshia Hector, Lafayette, La.
Jacob Landry, New Iberia, La.
Lauren Lilly, Mandeville, La.
Blaike Musso, Lafayatte, La.
Madalyn Pousson, Welsh, La.
Michael Rodriguez, Mobile, Ala.
Chase Shaheen, Walker, La.
Devin Simpson, Middletown, Del.
Edward “Alex” Thistlethwaite III, Henderson, Nev.
Rachel Zeringue, Mandeville, La.

College of Human Sciences & Education
Lindsey Baker, Sugar Grove, Ill.
Kelsey Brown, Metairie, La.
Mary Caldwell, St. Francisville, La.
Shryece Celestine, Lake Charles, La.
Allison Cutrera, Lake Charles, La.
Timothy “Cameron” Hoffpauir, Eunice, La.
Kathleen Nguyen, Westminster, Calif.
Kayla Patton, Haughton, La.

College of Humanities & Social Sciences
Eileen DeLeo, Baton Rouge, La.
Caitlin Demarest, New Orleans, La.
Hayley Franklin, Baton Rouge, La.
Emily Kornman, New Orleans, La.
Catherine Pinas, Darien, Ill.

Manship School of Mass Communication
Malori Bezet, Plaquemine, La.
Caroline Byrne, Berwick, La.
Kaelen Delaune, Metairie, La.
Caitlin Demarest, New Orleans, La.
Peyton Klemm, Baton Rouge, La.
Joan Lyons, Denver, Colo.
Kaylin Parker, Luling, La.
Jacques Petit, Luling, La.
Sadie Tanner-Pobocik, New Orleans, La.

College of Science
Charles de Boisblanc, New Orleans, La.
Anthony Domma, Baton Rouge, La.
Joshua Edwards, Baton Rouge, La.
Aleshia Hector, Lafayette, La.
Nikka Khorsandi, Lafayette, La.
Blake Kruger, Baton Rouge, La.
Rakeal Williamson, Jonesboro, La.

About the LSU Distinguished Communicator Program
The LSU Distinguished Communicator program was created in 2006 to enhance learning experiences for LSU students and support the improvement of students’ communication skills.​ For more information on Communication across the Curriculum, call 225-578-7795 or visit

About the E. J. Ourso College of Business​

Since its establishment in 1928, the E. J. Ourso College of Business has continuously improved and expanded its offerings for students and alumni. Additionally, the college has made it a priority to provide its faculty with the resources it needs to further research in every aspect of the business world and to produce industry leaders for a global work environment. For more news and information about the E. J. Ourso College, visit

“Like” us on Facebook (LSUOursoCollege) or follow us on Twitter and Instagram (@lsuoursocollege).​​​


Angela McBride
LSU E. J. Ourso College of Business