Pair of Students Named President’s Alumni Scholars

November 29, 2016

BATON ROUGE – Some of LSU’s best and brightest students – President’s Alumni Scholars and Flagship Scholars – and the donors who funded their scholarships were recognized at the LSU Alumni Association Scholars Banquet in November.

President’s Alumni Scholarships were awarded to the university’s top 10 entering first-year students, two of whom are from the E. J. Ourso College of Business - Kimberly Cook, an accounting major from Bossier City, and Ethan Olsen, a general business major from Belle Chase.

The President’s Alumni Scholars, also known as Cain Scholars, receive awards funded through the association from an endowment made in memory of Ola and Ruth Cain by Gordon A. Cain and Mary H. Cain.

Resident and nonresident students receive tuition exemption, on-campus room and board, and a one-time $2,000 study abroad stipend. Nonresidents also receive $2,000 per year.

Flagship Scholarships, funded by individual donors, organizations, and alumni chapters through the association, were awarded 181 students.

Residents receive $2,500 per year and nonresidents receive $20,500 per year. All recipients can earn up to an additional $1,500 by participating in the President’s Student Aide program by working in an on-campus job.

About the E. J. Ourso College of Business
Since its establishment in 1928, the E. J. Ourso College of Business has continuously improved and expanded its offerings for students and alumni. Additionally, the college has made it a priority to provide its faculty with the resources it needs to further research in every aspect of the business world and to produce industry leaders for a global work environment. For more news and information about the E. J. Ourso College, visit our home page.

“Like” us on Facebook (LSUOursoCollege) or follow us on Twitter and Instagram (@lsuoursocollege).​​


Angela McBride
LSU E. J. Ourso College of Business