Hall of Distinction 2016 Inductees Announced


2016 ​Hall of Distinction Inductees: Carbo, Guerrero, Harp and Walker.

January 28, 2016

BATON ROUGE – The LSU E. J. Ourso College of Business has announced the members of its 2016 Hall of Distinction Class – Deke Carbo, Fernando Guerrero, James O. Harp Jr. and Steven Walker. This year’s class will be inducted at the Hall of Distinction Banquet, which the college will host at the Business Education Complex on Friday, March 4.

“These men have distinguished themselves and are truly deserving of this honor,” said Richard D. White Jr., dean of the LSU business college. “​Deke, Fernando, Jim and Steve have exceeded the criteria we use to determine our Hall of Distinction members and we are very much looking forward to their special evening.”

Carbo is president, chief executive officer and sole owner of Metis Financial LLC, a consulting firm specializing in providing investment and financial consulting services. Through Metis Financial, Carbo provides services to several high-net-worth families and family-owned businesses in Louisiana. In 2009, the company was named one of the top wealth management firms in the country by Wealth Manager magazine.

Carbo is a native of Baton Rouge and a graduate of LSU, where he earned a bachelor’s in accounting in 1980. He is a member of the E. J. Ourso College of Business Dean’s Advisory Council, American Institute of Certified Public Accountants, New Orleans Chapter of the Society of Louisiana Certified Public Accountants and has been awarded the Personal Financial Specialist designation by the AICPA.

Guerrero is managing partner and chief investment officer for Varadero Capital LP in New York City. The company is a registered investment advisory firm, managing eight accounts totaling an estimated $1.06 billion in assets.

Guerrero, a Cuban immigrant, holds a bachelor’s and master’s in finance from LSU and is a graduate of the Program for Management Development at the Harvard Business School.

Since 2001, Harp has served as executive vice president and chief financial officer of Hornbeck Offshore, a leading marine transportation and oilfield service company headquartered in Covington, La. Over the past 15 years, Hornbeck Offshore has grown more than 15-fold while under his financial leadership. Since November 2000, Harp Jr. has been responsible for raising nearly $4.5 billion in capital and credit availability for the company, including its IPO on the New York Stock Exchange in March 2004.

Harp is a native of Baton Rouge and graduated from LSU in 1982 with a bachelor’s degree in accounting. He has been part of the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation since 1982, serving on the board and as past president. In 2015, he was presented their Breath of Life Award for more than 30 years of continuous service.

Walker retired from JPMorgan Chase in 2015 after a 39-year career in commercial banking. He 
spent the last 15 years of his career as a senior executive for JPMorgan Chase in their Middle Market Banking & Specialized Industries Division. His tenure there was highlighted by building a middle market banking franchise across the seven western and southeastern states that JPMC acquired in the Washington Mutual failure of 2008. It grew from a zero starting point and, over the next seven years, became one of the fastest growing parts of the JPMC middle market franchise. Walker completed his career at JPMC as the first head of middle market banking nationwide.

Walker attended LSU on an ROTC scholarship and served as an officer in the US Air Force for two-and-a-half years. He earned his bachelor’s and master’s degrees in finance from LSU, as well as a degree from the Advanced Management Program at Harvard University. He was an inaugural member of the Dean’s Advisory Council for the E. J. Ourso College of Business and continues in that service today.

About the Hall of Distinction
Established in 1996, the E. J. Ourso College of Business Hall of Distinction recognizes individuals who make significant contributions in the areas of business, academia, government or the community. The Hall of Distinction is not strictly limited to LSU alumni but nominees should have some connection with the college.

For more information about the Hall of Distinction, visit 
our home page. For information about the E. J. Ourso College, visit lsu.edu/business.

“Like” us on Facebook (LSUOursoCollege) or follow us on Twitter (@lsuoursocollege).​

Angela McBride
LSU E. J. Ourso College of Business