Hall of Distinction 2015 Inductees Announced

​Matt McCarroll, Dale Redman, and Richard Sturlese

​Matt McCarroll, Dale Redman, and Richard Sturlese

February 19, 2015

BATON ROUGE – The LSU E. J. Ourso College of Business has announced the members of its 2015 Hall of Distinction Class – Matt McCarroll, Dale Redman and Richard Sturlese. This year’s class will be inducted at the Hall of Distinction Banquet, which the college will host at the Business Education Complex on Friday, March 6.

“These men have distinguished themselves and are truly deserving of this honor,” said E. J. Ourso College of Business Dean Richard D. White Jr. “Matt, Dale and Richard have exceeded the criteria we use to determine our Hall of Distinction members and we are very much looking forward to their special evening.”

McCarroll is the founder, president and chief executive officer of Fieldwood Energy LLC, a Houston-based portfolio company of Riverstone Holdings LLC. Founded in early 2013, Fieldwood is focused on the acquisition and development of conventional oil and gas assets on the Gulf Coast and Gulf of Mexico. To date, the company has entered into two material transactions with the acquisition of Apache’s Gulf of Mexico Shelf business for $3.75 billion in July 2013 and the acquisition of SandRidge’s Gulf of Mexico and Gulf Coast business for $750 million in January 2014. These transactions have established Fieldwood as the largest operator in the shallow-water Gulf of Mexico.

McCarroll holds a bachelor’s degree in business administration and finance from LSU. He is an active member in numerous industry associations and currently serves on the board of directors of the National Ocean Industries Association. He is also a member of the Dean’s Advisory Council of the E. J. Ourso College of Business.

Redman is the interim chief financial officer of Amedisys Inc., which is a public home health and hospice company with 13,000 employees across the United States. He joined Amedisys in 2007 as CFO before retiring after five years in the position. In early 2014, however, he was asked to return as interim CFO.

Redman is a native of Baton Rouge and earned his bachelor’s degree in personnel management from LSU in 1970, as well as his master’s degree in accounting in 1972. From 1999 to 2007, he served as an instructor in the E. J. Ourso College of Business, teaching corporate finance and advanced corporate finance. He also spoke as part of the LSU Flores MBA Distinguished Speaker Series in 2011 and has served on the LSU Finance Department Advisory Committee.

Sturlese is a retired owner and partner of Acadian Ambulance Service Inc., headquartered in Lafayette, La. There, he served as executive vice president until exiting the company in 1998. By the time he left the company, which he started in 1971 with partners Richard Zuschlag and Roland Dugas Jr., it had grown from eight employees and two ambulances to more than 1,000 employees and more than 100 ambulances. Today, he owns and operates Sturco Investments LLC, which is involved in several diversified investments.

Sturlese is a member of the LSU Foundation, the LSU Alumni Association, the LSU Tiger Athletic Foundation, the Dean’s Advisory Council of the E. J. Ourso College of Business and the LSU Business Building Oversight Committee. From 1988 to 1991, he served on the board of the Louisiana 4-H Foundation. In 1994, he was elected to the Tiger Athletic Foundation Board of Directors and served as president in 2000 and 2001. He has also been heavily involved with his community and church, serving as president of the South Cameron Hospital District, trustee and chairman of the St. Eugene Catholic Church Council, president of Oakbourne Country Club, captain of the fundraising committee of the Catholic Charities of the Diocese of Lafayette and board member of the Cathedral Carmel School Foundation.

Established in 1996, the E. J. Ourso College of Business Hall of Distinction recognizes individuals who make significant contributions in the areas of business, academia, government or the community. The Hall of Distinction is not strictly limited to LSU alumni but nominees should have some connection with the college.

For more information about the Hall of Distinction, visit our home page. For information about the E. J. Ourso College, visit our home page.

“Like” us on Facebook (LSUOursoCollege) or follow us on Twitter (@lsuoursocollege).​

Angela McBride
LSU E. J. Ourso College of Business