History | LSU E. J. Ourso College of Business

About Us


Date Event
1899 LSU organizes a four-year course in commerce leading to a bachelor's degree.
1908 The University changes from a fixed four-year courses to organization into colleges. Due to limited funding, a College of Commerce was prevented and the course in commerce was merged with the College of Arts & Sciences.
June 11, 1928 College of Commerce established by University Board of Supervisors at its annual meeting. It was agreed that the college would be housed in Himes Hall with J. B. Trant presiding as the first dean.
1931 College receives accreditation from the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB).

The University begins to offer the Master of Business Administration (MBA).


William D. Ross named the second dean.


College reorganized and renamed College of Business Administration.


LSU Executive Education established.


Donald L. Woodland named the third dean.


College moves into the Center for Engineering and Business Administration (CEBA).


James A. Richardson named acting dean.


Public Administration Institute established.


James B. Henry named fourth dean.


Center for Internal Auditing established.


Real Estate Research Institute established.


Louisiana Business & Technology Center established.


John L. Glascock named interim dean.


Thomas D. Clark Jr. named fifth dean.


MBA program renamed in honor of James C. and Cherie H. Flores. It is to be referred to as the Flores MBA Program.


Department of Management renamed in honor of William W. and Catherine M. Rucks IV. It is to be referred to as the Rucks Department of Management.


Hall of Distinction established to recognize the accomplishments of individuals who have a strong association with the college of business and have distinguished themselves through their personal and civic achievements.


College reaccredited by AACSB.


The Louisiana Institute for Entrepreneurial Education and Family Business Studies is established.


William R. Lane named interim dean.


Securities Markets Analysis Research Trading (SMART) Lab established.

April 2003

The Louisiana Institute for Entrepreneurial Education and Family Business Studies renamed the Entrepreneurship Institute.

July 1, 2003

Robert T. Sumichrast begins tenure as sixth dean.


College name shortened to E. J. Ourso College of Business.

December 18, 2005

E. J. Ourso, the college's namesake, passes away at the age of 82.

April 23, 2006

College reaccredited by AACSB.

February 23, 2007

The Stephenson Disaster Management Institute is established.

May 16, 2007

The Entrepreneurship Institute is renamed in honor of Emmet and Toni Stephenson. It is to be referred to as the Stephenson Entrepreneurship Institute.

July 1, 2007

William R. Lane named interim dean.

July 13, 2007

LSU Board of Supervisors approves renaming of CEBA to honor Patrick F. Taylor.

September 8, 2007

CEBA officially rededicated as Patrick F. Taylor Hall.

July 1, 2008

Eli Jones begins tenure as seventh dean.

March 19, 2010

Groundbreaking ceremony for Business Education Complex held. Among special guests in attendance were Governor Bobby Jindal.

June 2, 2010

LSU Stephenson Disaster Management Institute partners with Louisiana Economic Development, the Governor's Office of Homeland Security and Emergency Preparedness and the University of Louisiana's National Incident Management Systems and Advanced Technologies Institute to open the Louisiana Business Emergency Operations Center.

November 5, 2010

Topping Out Ceremony was held to commemorate the placement of the final steel beam on the Business Education Complex.

April 8, 2011

Inaugural LSU One Hundred Luncheon held.

March 2, 2012

Ribbon-cutting ceremony held for the Business Education Complex. Steve Forbes served as the keynote speaker.

June 8, 2012

Richard D. White named interim dean.

September 12, 2012

LSU MPA Program kicks off year-long celebration of 40th anniversary.

April 1, 2014

Richard D. White Jr. begins tenure at eighth dean.

January 23, 2015

The Center for Internal Auditing celebrates its 30th anniversary.

March 11, 2015

The Energy Program, including energy minor and Flores MBA specialization in energy, is announced.

July 7, 2015

Jared Llorens is named director of the Public Administration Institute.

September 30, 2015

The Professional Sales Institute officially launches.

January 11, 2016

The LSU Division of Economic Development changes its name to the LSU Economics & Policy Research Group.

April 29, 2016

The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB) reaccredits the E. J. Ourso College of Business.

May 5, 2016

The Master of Science in Accounting changes its name to the Master of Accountancy (MAcc).

February 24, 2017

The Board of Regents approves the establishment of the new bachelor of science in entrepreneurship, a paired-degree option that must be earned in conjunction with another bachelor's degree program from any college on the LSU campus.

March 21, 2017

The Department of Information Systems & Decision Sciences changes its name to the Stephenson Department of Entrepreneurship & Information Systems.

May 11, 2018

Two students graduate with the college's new bachelor of science in entrepreneurship. These are the first two graduates with the paired-degree.

April 24, 2019

The Public Administration Institute changed it's name to the Department of Public Administration.


The Highway Safety Research Group name change to Center for Analytics Research in Traffic Safety was approved by the Board of Regents.