LSU College of Agriculture announce faculty award winners

McGawleyThe LSU AgCenter and the LSU College of Agriculture announced the winners of their annual faculty and staff awards during their annual conference ceremony held Dec. 12 at the LSU Student Union Theater.

Edward McGawley, a professor in the Department of Plant Pathology and Crop Physiology who specializes in nematode research, received the Sedberry Award for Outstanding Graduate Teacher.

McGawley has more than 35 years teaching experience, and he makes sure his students get a well-rounded understanding of potential plant pathogens and nematology. He was also instrumental in retrofitting the teaching laboratory to enhance instruction for the entire department.Errera

Reagan Errera, an instructor in the School of Renewable Natural Resources, received the Sedberry Award for Outstanding Undergraduate Teacher. She has taught six courses related to natural resources ecology and the environment. Two of her courses are listed in Communication across the Curriculum, a multifaceted program at LSU, which is designed to improve the writing, speaking, visual and technological communication skills of undergraduates.

JanesThe recipient of the National Association of Colleges and Teachers of Agriculture Teaching Award was Marlene Janes, a professor in the School of Nutrition and Food Sciences. Janes has taught several core courses for food science graduate students and is willing to share her time with her students. She has also garnered more than $3.4 million for research and holds several officer positions in professional organizations.