Southeastern Museum Conference’s (SEMC) Exhibition Award

Broken Time Image  Broken Time Image 2

Photo credit: Malarie Zaunbrecher

LSU Museum of Art received the Bronze Award in the under $25,000 project budget category of the Southeastern Museum Conference’s (SEMC) Excellence in Exhibitions Competition for Broken Time: Sculpture by Martin Payton. This award is for the exhibition as a whole (including exhibition planning and design, interpretation/communication materials, community impact, relationship to the mission, etc.), encompassing the merit of the work as well as the educational value it provides to the community. The award was presented at the annual SEMC conference awards luncheon in Jackson, MS on October 10th. This exhibition was presented at LSU MOA from October 19, 2017 to February 11, 2018.

Broken Time: Sculpture by Martin Payton focuses on Payton’s recent work. His sculpture created in the last twenty years represents his most sophisticated improvised compositions. Inspired by New Orleans jazz musicians who maintain African heritage in the form of polyrhythms and improvisation, Payton maintains the record of use and wear in his material—scrap metal. Payton welds these materials as found, improvising his sparse, lyrical steel sculptures, which are deeply rooted in the modernist tradition. Striking lines, curves, and planes are deepened with nuanced layers of meaning rooted in African symbolism, the African American experience, and jazz.

The exhibition project is accompanied by a fully-illustrated catalog with essays by LSU MOA Curator Courtney Taylor; LSU Professor and Director, African & African American Studies Program, Dr. Joyce Jackson; Southern University retired art historian Dr. Eloise Johnson; New Orleans poet, editor, and music producer Kalamu ya Salaam; and a short preface by Executive Director Daniel E. Stetson. The exhibition is currently traveling to venues beyond Louisiana by LSU MOA.

Generous support for this exhibition was provided by Annual Exhibitions Fund Supporters - The Imo N. Brown Memorial Fund in memory of Heidel Brown and Mary Ann Brown, Louisiana CAT, the L. Cary Saurage II Fund, and Robert T. and Linda H. Bowsher