Executive Vice President & Provost


Dr. Stacia Haynie

Executive Vice President & Provost Stacia Haynie has been an active member of the LSU community since joining the Department of Political Science in 1990. Dr. Haynie served as Dean of the College of Humanities & Social Sciences before being named Interim Executive Vice President & Provost in May 2018. In December 2018, after the conclusion of a successful national search, Dr. Haynie was named permanent Executive Vice President & Provost, serving as the chief academic and chief operating officer of LSU. Dr. Haynie earned the J. W. Annison Jr. Family Alumni Professorship at LSU and has served in a number of administrative positions on the campus including Department Chair, Associate Dean and Interim Dean of the LSU Graduate School, as well as Vice Provost for Academic Affairs. 

Dr. Haynie received a bachelor’s degree in theater in 1981 and a master’s degree in political science in 1986, both from Midwestern State University in Wichita Falls, Texas. In 1990, she received her Ph.D. in political science from the University of North Texas. 

Dr. Haynie studies judicial politics with special emphasis on comparative appellate court decision-making. With support from the National Science Foundation and the Louisiana Education Quality Support Fund, Dr. Haynie and her colleagues C. Neal Tate of Vanderbilt, Reginald Sheehan of Michigan State University and Donald Songer of the University of South Carolina created a 10-country appellate courts data set. Haynie has particular expertise in the legal systems of South Africa, the Philippines and India. Her studies also include civil trial court decisions in U.S. state courts. 

Dr. Haynie taught courses in Judicial Politics, American Constitutional Law, Comparative Judicial Politics and American Public Law. Dr. Haynie has also been awarded the Arts & Sciences Professor’s Award for Distinguished Scholarship, the LSU University Alumni Association Faculty Excellence Award and the LSU College of Arts & Sciences Advisory Council Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching.