Bookmark and Share
Faculty & Staff Focus, Honors & Awards, Media Advisory

LSU Librarians Honored by Louisiana Library Association at Annual Conference

03/28/2014 02:39 PM

BATON ROUGE – The Louisiana Library Association, or LLA, honored two LSU Libraries faculty members on Wednesday, March 26, during the annual LLA Conference in Lafayette.


Elaine B. Smyth, interim dean of LSU Libraries, received the LLA’s Outstanding Academic Librarian Award. The award honors an individual who has made an especially significant contribution to further the development of academic librarianship within Louisiana.


Linda Smith Griffin, head of cataloging at LSU’s Middleton Library, is the 2014 recipient of the LLA’s Anthony H. Benoit Mid-Career Award, presented annually to a member in the middle of his or her career to recognize outstanding contributions to the field of librarianship.


LLA Outstanding Academic Librarian Award Committee Chair Melinda Matthews said that Smyth was an outstanding librarian in LSU Special Collections for many years.


“She serves as a model for other librarians,” Matthews said of Smyth. “She has made an impact on the profession of librarianship as a whole and within her specialty discipline; she conducts research and shares it through scholarly publications; and she participates actively in professional organizations.”


Smyth is the author of two books and numerous scholarly articles about rare books and manuscripts. She is an experienced grant writer, authoring or co-authoring grants that have brought more than $1.5 million to the state. She has regularly served as a panelist evaluating grant applications for the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Institute for Museum and Library Services. Smyth currently chairs the Louisiana Public Document Depository Program Advisory Council, and she is an executive board member of the Louisiana Academic Library Information Network Consortium, or LALINC.


“As the interim dean of the largest academic library in Louisiana, Ms. Smyth provides leadership throughout the state and is dedicated to making LSU and Louisiana the home of superb academic institutions,” said Sigrid Kelsey, director of library communications and publications for LSU Libraries. “Elaine Smyth is indubitably deserving of the public recognition that this award gives her.”


Anthony H. Benoit Mid-Career Award Committee Chair Melinda Matthews said the committee chose Griffin for the award because of her excellent credentials as a librarian, her numerous scholarly publications and her active participation in professional activities.


Griffin’s publications include a chapter in Handbook of Black Librarianship and journal articles about cataloging, outreach programs in academic libraries and scholarly resources for African and African American Studies. In addition to LLA, Griffin is a member of the American Library Association, or ALA, and two of its divisions – Association of College & Research Libraries and Association for Library Collections & Technical Services. She has served as a representative to North American Serials Interest Group since 2010 and has chaired several ALA interest groups associated with cataloging.


“Linda Smith Griffin has been recognized by honor societies, student groups and other organizations for her service,” said Beth Paskoff, director of LSU’s School of Library & Information Science. “It is time for her to be recognized by her professional colleagues in Louisiana.”


For more information on the Louisiana Library Association or on the awards, contact Betsy Miguez, LLA Publicity Committee, at 337-482-1173 or





Contact Aaron Looney
LSU Media Relations