Bookmark and Share
Board of Supervisors, Campus Events, General Information, Honors & Awards, Media Advisory, Student Spotlight

LSU CxC Names Five Distinguished Communicators for 2013

12/20/2013 10:47 AM

BATON ROUGE – In addition to the class of 2013, LSU’s 282nd commencement exercises honored five graduating students with the LSU Distinguished Communicator Award. These students earned this honor by demonstrating superior communication skills and meeting high standards in academics, leadership and community service through the LSU Communicaiton across the Curriculum, or CxC, program.

As the first program of its kind in the nation, CxC works with LSU faculty to train, mentor and recognize students who demonstrate exceptional skills in written, spoken, visual and technological communication. CxC is focused on enhancing learning experiences for students and preparing them for today’s highly competitive, communication-centered marketplace. CxC was named the 2010 Program of Excellence by the Conference on College Composition and Communication. CxC is the champion for the annual TEDxLSU event which is centered on big ideas and effective communication intended to spark deep discussion and connection among attendees.  

CxC honored the Distinguished Communicators in a ceremony on Thursday, Dec. 19. The distinguished communicators of 2013 are as follows, listed with their major, hometown and faculty advisor:

  • Ryckur Schuttler, petroleum engineering
    Hometown: Boca Raton, Fla.
    Faculty Advisor: Richard Hughes
  • Kevin Louth, mechanical engineering
    Hometown: Ponchatoula
    Faculty Advisor: Ramachandra Devireddy
  • Matt Wyatt, natural resource ecology & management
    Hometown: Madisonville
    Faculty Advisor: Michael Kaller
  • James Parker, civil engineering
    Hometown: LaPlace
    Faculty Advisor: Paige Davis
  • Christa Mahlobo, kinesiology
    Hometown: Houston
    Faculty Adivsor: Birgitta Barker

LSU Media Relations