Bookmark and Share
Honors & Awards, Media Advisory, Faculty & Staff Focus, General Information

LSU Vice Provost Gil Reeve Honored by Texas A&M

10/29/2013 12:15 PM

BATON ROUGE – LSU Vice Provost for Academic Programs, Planning and Review T. Gilmour Reeve was recently honored by the Texas A&M College of Education and Human Development.

Reeve was one of five Outstanding Alumni recognized at the 2013 College Awards Celebration, held on Friday, Oct. 25, in College Station, Texas. The awards were given in recognition of the alumni’s contributions to their professions and their successes as former students.

The Outstanding Alumni Award is the highest honor that the college can bestow on former students. The criteria established for selecting the Outstanding Alumni is threefold - honorees must have:

  • a record of impressive accomplishments which indicate contributions at the state, national or international level,
  • a reputation for being a person of integrity, honesty, and character,
  • and, finally, a record of contribution to society through leadership and/or scholarship.


The former students who were honored clearly meet and far surpass these criteria. Each of them has not only gained the respect of their peers but also has been recognized as leaders in their respective fields. Through exceptional contributions to their professions, they have advanced the reputation of Texas A&M University and the College of Education and Human Development.

As representatives of Texas A&M University, they exemplify the Aggie Spirit through their dedication, hard work and devotion to education. In addition to Reeve, class of 1976, the 2013 Outstanding Alumni for Texas A&M University’s College of Education and Human Development are Bobbie Biggs, class of 1976; William Dee Nichols, class of 1995; Salvador Hector Ochoa, class of 1989; and Melanie Sartore-Baldwin, class of 2007, who was the Early Career Recipient.

This year’s honorees are a distinguished group, who has dedicated their careers to transforming lives through education.

For more information, contact Diane Oswald at 979-845-5311 or

LSU Media Relations