Bookmark and Share
Faculty & Staff Focus, General Information, Honors & Awards, Media Advisory

Louisiana Technology Transfer Office’s Roy Keller Wins Prestigious Tibbetts Award

06/15/2012 08:40 AM

BATON ROUGE – Roy Keller, director of the Louisiana Technology Transfer Office within the LSU Louisiana Business & Technology Center, was among six individuals awarded the Tibbetts Award by the U.S. Small Business Administration in April. The presentations were made at the White House, with Todd Park, U.S. chief technology officer, serving as the keynote speaker.


SBA’s Tibbetts Awards are given as an honor for outstanding small businesses and individuals who participate in the SBA Small Business Innovation Research program. Recipients are honored for the critical role they play in research and development for the government and for their success in driving innovation and creating new jobs. Winners are selected based on the economic impact of their technological innovation and on whether they have met federal research and development needs, encouraged diverse participation in technological innovation and increased the commercialization of federal research.


“Creating an economy built to last requires redoubling our commitment to supporting innovative entrepreneurs like those we honor with Tibbetts Awards,” SBA Administrator Karen Mills was quoted as saying in a SBA news release.


Two types of Tibbetts Awards exist – those for businesses that have participated in the SBIR award programs and those for individuals who have supported the SBIR Program but have not received economic assistance from the program. Another category, created last year, is the SBIR Hall of Fame Awards, which recognize companies with a long period of extraordinary success of research, innovation and commercialization within the SBIR program.


For more information about SBIR, visit SBA’s website at


The Louisiana Technology Transfer Office, or LTTO, established in 1990 is operated by the Louisiana Business & Technology Center, or LBTC, a department of the E. J. Ourso College of Business Administration, and is located at LSU. The LTTO is one of three components of the LBTC, the other two being the Business Incubator and the LSBDC Technology Center at LSU. The LBTC operates the LTTO through funding provided by grants and contracts from Louisiana Economic Development, the Louisiana Board of Regents, NASA and the U.S. Small Business Administration.


The Louisiana Business & Technology Center, an integral part of LSU’s E. J. Ourso College of Business’ Stephenson Entrepreneurship Institute, endeavors to enhance economic development in Louisiana through the support of existing small businesses and the development of new businesses. Established in 1988, the LBTC’s highly successful business incubator program has been honored as the National Business Incubator Association’s Incubator of the Year. For more information, visit or call 225-578-7555.

E. J. Ourso College of Business