Bookmark and Share
Board of Supervisors, General Information

LSU Board Welcomes New Members, Approves Interim President/Chancellor Jenkins

06/12/2012 09:54 AM

BATON ROUGE – The LSU Board of Supervisors welcomed three new members at its June meeting, in addition to approving William Jenkins’ appointment as the interim system president and chancellor.


The board welcomed new members Rolfe McCollister, Ann Duplessis and student member Justin Mannino. McCollister, of Baton Rouge, is the president and founder of Louisiana Business Inc., which publishes The Greater Baton Rouge Business Report, while Duplessis is a former state senator from New Orleans. Mannino, of Baton Rouge, is a third-year student at the LSU Paul M. Hebert Law Center.


Additionally, board members Stanley Jacobs and John George were sworn in for new terms.


The board also welcomed back Jenkins, who previously served as system president from 1999-2007. His tenure as interim chancellor will begin in August, and will be his third time in that position, previously holding the office from 1996-99 and in 2008.


“We cannot thank you enough,” board chair Hank Danos said to Jenkins before he was offered a round of applause.


The board also approved the contract of new LSU men’s basketball coach Johnny Jones, as well as his assistants Robert Kirby and Charles Leonard. Jones, a former Tiger player and assistant for legendary coach Dale Brown, will receive a total compensation package of approximately $1.1 million.


Contract amendments for seven members of the Tiger football staff were also approved following an SEC Championship season in 2011. Assistant coaches John Chavis, Greg Studrawa, Frank Wilson, Steve Ensminger, Thomas McGaughey and Andreá “Brick” Haley all received raises. Quarterbacks coach Steve Kragthorpe’s compensation was adjusted following his stepping down as the team’s offensive coordinator due to being diagnosed with Parkinson’s disease.


The board was also updated on the status of the 2012 Louisiana state appropriation for higher education. When run through the Louisiana Board of Regents’ funding formula, the LSU System’s portion sees a 1.42-percent cut from the last fiscal year, while the main campus’s number drops 1.27 percent. Some of that reduction will be offset by increased tuition but Jenkins cautioned that approach has its drawbacks.


"We're now becoming tuition-dependent rather than state-dependent," he said, warning that continued tuition increases could eventually create an unsustainable revenue stream.


Board member Stephen Perry expressed the opinion that the board should get more involved in the cutting process, rather than using an across-the-board approach.


“I think that anytime you employ a raw percentage on a horizontal distribution of cuts it’s not a very strategic approach,” said Perry. “In a quest for excellence, we’re going to have to invest selectively.”


For more information on LSU’s budget situation, visit


Other actions of the board included:


  • Approval for the re-authorization of the Stephenson Disaster Management Institute at LSU.
  • Approval of an exclusive sponsorship agreement between LSU and Coca-Cola Bottling United – Gulf Coast LLC.
  • Approval of a recommendation to consent to the sublease of premises to Sigma Alpha Mu at LSU Housing Corporation.
  • Approval of a recommendation to name a conference room in Peabody Hall the “William Pinar and William Doll Curriculum Theory Conference Room.”
  • Approval of a recommendation to name a classroom in the new Business Education Complex the “James ‘Denny’ and Jane Shelton Classroom.”
  • Approval of a request for authorization for Interim President Jenkins to approve endowed professorship proposals received by July 2.
  • Approval of the following endowed professorships:
    • The Darlene and Thomas O. Ryder Professorship Nos. 7 and 8 in mass communication in the Manship School of Mass Communication.
    • The Dr. Richard Bruch Distinguished Professorship No. 3 in biological sciences in the College of Science.
    • The Leonard C. Tobin Sr. Endowed Professorship in the College of Science.
    • The Charles and Hilda Roddey Professorship No. 3 in the College of Engineering.
    • The Karen Wax Schmitt and Family Endowed Professorship in the College of Education.
    • The Clarence M. Eidt Jr. Professorship No. 4 in the College of Engineering.
    • The Gloria M. Anderson Professorship for graduate studies in voice and opera in the School of Music in the College of Music and Dramatic Arts.
    • The Patricia Hewlett Bodin Distinguished Professorship No. 2 in the College of Science.
    • The U. J. LeGrange Professorship No. 8 in accounting in the E. J. Ourso College of Business.
    • The Luke V. Guarisco Distinguished Professorship in American history in the Department of History, College of Humanities & Social Sciences.
    • The Robert J. Peltier Professorship in the E. J. Ourso College of Business.
    • The Arthur K. Barton Professorship No. 3 in the College of Engineering.
    • The Blanche Donaldson Professorship for the Department of Veterinary Clinical Sciences in the School of Veterinary Medicine.

LSU Media Relations