Bookmark and Share
Student Spotlight, General Information

LSU Lab School’s Mu Alpha Theta Chapter Hosts “Pi” Day

04/09/2012 11:24 AM


BATON ROUGE – The LSU University Laboratory School, or Lab School, celebrated Pi Day last month, thanks to the efforts of the school’s Mu Alpha Theta chapter and a $500 grant Julie Owens, mathematics instructor and chapter advisor, received from the Mu Alpha Theta national honor society.


Lab School Mu Alpha Theta chapter students planned and coordinated the event, which was held on Wednesday, March 14.


Mathematics activities and competitions included “Find Your Pi,” “Hat Pi,” “Whoopie Pi” and “Give Pi a Chance.”  


Faculty and students representing several disciplines in the middle school and high school grades supported Pi Day. The art department held a Pi Day T-shirt contest, and the English department supported the writing and performance of a play about pi. Pi Day activities were filmed by an International Baccalaureate film class to be used in the class curriculum this semester. Several of the middle and high school choruses performed songs about pi.


The Lab School Mu Alpha Theta chapter consists of 66 student members who share and promote interest in mathematics throughout the academic year. The members provide free math tutoring for Lab School students two mornings a week and additional tutoring online for the National Tutoring Program.  


Mu Alpha Theta is the national high school and two-year college mathematics honor society with more than 88,000 student members in more than 1,800 schools. Mu Alpha Theta is dedicated to inspiring keen interest and developing strong scholarship in mathematics in high school and two-year college students. For more information about Mu Alpha Theta, visit


The University Laboratory School serves more than 1,300 K-12 students and operates through the LSU College of Education as an independent school system and an educational research center. For more information about the Lab School, visit


Effective July 1, the Lab School will become a division of LSU’s new College of Human Sciences & Education. The new college will consist of six schools: the School of Education, the School of Human Resource Education and Workforce Development, the School of Kinesiology, the School of Library and Information Science, the School of Social Work and the University Laboratory School. For more information about the College of Human Sciences and Education visit

LSU Media Relations